Chum Kiu

Recently I filmed myself doing the wing chun kung fu form known as chum kiu. Loosely translated, this means “seeking the bridge” because this is where you start to pivot, step and use your entire body. In the first form, sil lum tao, all you use are your hands while remaining in your basic horse stance. Here is the video:

Right now, this is the form I’m trying to improve. In my opinion, all the secrets to the style lie in the first two. Everything else (biu jee, mook jong, pole and butterfly sword forms) is just extra gravy.

Having said that, here is a list of what I see needs work after watching this video:

*I’m not releasing the energy right when I roll my arms up in that opening move.

*For some reason, my elbow keeps bouncing around when I pivot. (Check out the arm that I pull back to do the rear elbow move.)

*At this point in time, I really should make it a point to do my kicks in a more methodical manner. I should pretend like I am in a movie, doing them in slow motion, until I get the release down better.

*The same goes for the second-to-last section where I do a double low bong sao and raise my arms up to a double tan sao. During this maneuver, the energy is supposed to sink into my elbows. Right now, that’s not happening.

It won’t take me too long to fix these issues. That doesn’t mean the form will be perfect, but it WILL be better.

Another thing I need to do is get a better grip on each section of the form. If someone asked why I was doing two low bong saos at the end, I wouldn’t be able to accurately answer them.

If I want to be a Sifu someday, then I NEED to get a better grasp on the purpose behind each section.

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in analysis, biu jee, bong sao, butterfly swords, chum kiu, energy, fitness, martial arts, mook jong, observation, off-topic, pole form, random, rant, review, sil lum tao, tan sao, wing chun, wooden dummy, Writing, youtube videos. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chum Kiu

  1. Rick Reppin says:

    Awesome!! I believe if you believe in yourself you will reach your goal!

  2. Larry London says:

    This is the first I have seen of your site..very nice. I may comment as you asked, I think that you are losing connection in several motions. You appear to have a strong foundation and good power. If you can avoid shaking at the stop of each elbow turn, you will find stronger body unity in that pinpoint. Through the turning motion, developing eye steadiness by focusing on a point quickly will help this relaxed motion. Live strong and happy, LL

  3. wcman1976 says:

    Larry,

    Thank you. It’s a relief to see some constructive, INTELLIGENT criticism on this blog for a change! FYI: this video is from January 2013. I’ve been practicing my forms every day, as often as I can, and gotten a lot better. Sifu Cichon (my teacher) saw my video on Facebook/YouTube and was so impressed that he reposted it on his own news feed.

Leave a Reply

