Truck Driving and Etc.

I started training for my truck driving job last Friday. As of today I have 59 hours and 51 minutes of driving time in. The goal is 240. On top of that I have to do 40 backing maneuvers, and I have done 7. As of right now I am looking at finishing in mid-February. It can’t get here soon enough. Every day I find myself on the verge of tears, thinking about my family. It’s hard to fall asleep without my wife next to me, hard to think about the fact that my twin daughters and two sons aren’t getting to see each other.

I hate being out here for so long. If anything comes up back home, I can’t do a damn thing…and something HAS been happening with my son Aiden. He’s not doing so well in school, but here I am in Michigan. Kind of hard to do anything about it from here.

Another reason I am anxious to finish this training is to see what kind of options open up to me. My mentor says I might get a dedicated run right out of training, which would mean I’d be home daily and on weekends. However, the recruiters told me it would take me 6 months to earn a dedicated route. There is one that goes to Glens Falls, which is maybe 40 minutes north of where I live. That would be a nice drive to tak every day. (Plus my aunt works at Glens Falls Hospital, so maybe I could catch lunch with her every now and then.)

Another reason why I thought about not taking a dedicate run right away is because my friend John wanted to team drive with me. Why? Because if we prove ourselves to be hard workers, we could keep the truck rolling and make a LOT of money. Plus he wanted to team with me because he is still shaken by our crappy training experience with Trans Am, and I am a bit shaken by it too. And it turns out he doesn’t have the best trainer here at Swift either, so it might fall on ME to help him out when we get on a truck together.

I don’t know. If we go over the road, we earn one day home for every 6 days out. So if we did 24 days out, I could get 4 days home. One of other benefits from team driving is I would have someone there to talk to and maybe keep my mind off how much I miss my family. But let’s face it: a friend is a poor replacement for my wife and kids. So I hate to say it…but if they offer me dedicated after training, I might just take it. Yes, I want to be loyal and keep a promise I made to a friend, but I also have to be loyal to my family too…even MORESO than a friend.

Another good thing that would come from teaming is that John has been pretty good about his nutrition, and I am good about exercising…so if we combine those two, we will both increase our health. Also, he wanted to order Shakeology! So I will also convince him to sign up as a coach too and save even more money on it.

Yet another bonus to this would be the companion factor. As it stands now, I am still kind of shy. I get self-conscious if I am doing my exercise by myself. However, if John was doing it with me, I wouldn’t feel that way. Then if we were seen at truck stops or Swift terminals doing these workouts, we would get two reactions: either people will choose to remain ignorant and laugh at us, or they will come up and ask what we are doing. We will tell them briefly, then take down their info if they are interested. (And if John decides to build the business too, then we can trade off: I would get one interested person’s info, then he could take the next or vice versa.)

There is one more factor pushing my desire to get a dedicated run right out of the gate: I was given permission by my Sifu to teach wing chun! However, it is impossible to do this on the road. If I get home, I want to strike up a deal with the gym where I took my P90X Certification class to teach a P90X class AND wing chun. Another piece to that: the Insanity Certification is going to be out soon. In my opinion, for the average street fight, stamina is more important than strength. Once I get that certification, I plan on incorporating that into my wing chun training.

So either way, whether I get an over the road position with John or a dedicated run, I have plans to get this thing kickstarted again. And more important than ANY of that, I have a plan to get myself back home.

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in accountability, blog, cardio, class a license, diet, endurance, energy, exercise, fitness, food, health, home fitness, insanity certification, martial arts, nutrition, observation, P90X, p90x certification, random, rant, shakeology, supplements, swift transportation, teaching, team beachbody, trans am, truck driver, trucker, work, workout, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Truck Driving and Etc.

  1. ProJava says:

    Safe Travels. Come back home and you’ll always be home! Stay strong.

Leave a Reply

