Swift…so far

This is something I wrote in my notebook the other day…

*****
I don’t know when I will get to post this, but as of this writing I have 96 hours of driving time done for my training. The goal is 240 hours, as well as 40 backing maneuvers. (My current total for that is 10.) After 240 and 40, I have to go back to the Syracuse, NY terminal and do a road test to see if I can be solo.

The training program is better than Trans Am in some ways, worse in others. Better: I’m actually getting backing experience this time. Worse: my coach isn’t as laid back or easy to talk to. He is much older than me (56), whereas my Trans Am trainer Juan was closer to my age. Plus he has been driving for over 20 years; Juan had been at it for only four.

I’ve been trying to pinpoint if the time of day corresponds to the lowering of this guy’s interpersonal skills. (For example, maybe he isn’t a morning person.) It doesn’t seem to relate to that though. He is capable of being a dick at any time of day, and it could even be right after he was being super friendly. The only conclusion I can reach is that there is no pattern; he is friendly or a douche whenever the mood strikes him. Dealing with that kind of unpredictability sucks, but I try to keep reminding myself, “It’s only for two more weeks.”

Other Swift drivers have advised me: just take your mentor’s shit and get off their truck. Another guy I met added this advice to that: “Whenever he gets an attitude, just think of something YOU excel at. He is better at truck driving than you, but YOU are better at writing, martial arts, working out, playing guitar, and so on. Then you will realize you may be inexperienced at driving, but there are some things you do better than him.”

I like that advice…more than words can say.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in article, class a license, creative writing, exercise, guitar, guitar playing, home fitness, impressions, life, martial arts, music, off-topic, random, rant, review, swift transportation, team beachbody, trans am, truck driver, trucker, wing chun, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Swift…so far

  1. Rick Reppin says:

    Ya everyone if different and sometimes it takes a while to figure people out. Just keep on doing your thing and it will be ok.

Leave a Reply

