Decisions, Decisions…about Employment

156 hours down, 84 more to go. I’m looking at approximately one more week of training here with Swift. After that,. I don’t know what will happen. My friend John wanted to team drive with me when our training is over, but there is one major snag: the benefits here are awful.

My wife has an ongoing neurlogical problem that no doctor has been able to solve. I asked the Swift benefits department what the cost is for her to see a neurologist. There is a deductible of $2,000 that we have to pay OUT OF POCKET before the insurance covers anything…AND that is per year, so on January 1st the amount we have paid out reverts to zero.

The salary for a grade 6 state worker is certainly not enough to support a family of six like mine, but I pose this question: what difference does it make to earn more…if you have to pay out all that extra money for doctor visits?

I’d have no choice but to get a second job. So even though I wouldn’t be over the road, I would still hardly be home. Then again, even if I get in at midnight, at least I’m going home every day.

The way things are now makes me feel like I made the dumbest mistake of my life coming here. Then again, reviewing history shows I had no choice: I worked in an office full of vicious, heartless assholes who had no problem with flat out making up stories to supervisors about things I didn’t do…and since the supervisors liked the snitches more than an artsy weirdo like me, THEIR stories were always believed. Not only that, but the hours were garbage; 12:30-8:30pm meant the only job I could get with hours that fit into my schedule was an overnight shift, and I HATED overnights.

So, long story short, this is my verdict: I will keep working with Swift for now…but if the state takes me back (even as a grade 6), I’m going back to that and getting a part-time evening job.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in analysis, article, blog, class a license, deductible, employment, family, health, health insurance, home, insurance, job, life, observation, OCFS, off-topic, perseverance, random, rant, snitches, swift transportation, truck driver, trucker, work. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Decisions, Decisions…about Employment

  1. Rob Moses says:

    Ruff situation man!

    • wcman1976 says:

      It is no different than situations I usually find myself in but, as always, I will just make the best of it. Like I said, if the State comes calling…even to bring me back as just a grade 6…then I am out of here.

  2. Brothamen says:

    Everything works out, my man. If you gotta go back to civil services, you go. You have more to offer than being a truck driver! It’s always darkest being the dawn and you WILL find a solution and the key to a peaceful and prosperous life. I wish you wife well! What is her neurological disorder?

  3. Rick Reppin says:

    Ya when life gets rough we just gotta make do until something turns around. Keep your chin up!!

  4. wcman1976 says:

    Brothamen,

    No one knows what the disorder is, and she has been to several doctors. They were even going to send her down to Johns Hopkins.

  5. Brothamen says:

    What a shame! How do they know it’s neurological if they can’t pinpoint the disorder? Damn doctors… What are her symptoms? Is she doing well these days?

Leave a Reply

