News from the Road

Ironically, I’m writing this from the same place where I wrote my last in-depth blog. (I DID write a very quick one a few weeks ago, but it was so short that it hardly counts as a blog.)

I have been on the road with my co-driver John for about a month now. We are due to have home time next Thursday. We’ll see if we get back on time. The money has been coming in good…much better than it did with the state…but I miss my family. Tonight I was so choked up on the phone that I could barely talk to my wife and kids.

I have a few feelers out for jobs back home: there are some trucking companies willing to take people with my level of experience, plus there is my old state job, AND a state exam I will be taking on June 2.

A few weeks ago I stayed in a hotel room and started to fiddle around with my guitar. To my surprise, I came up with an arrangement that sounded pretty good (and NEW) to me. I wrote down a basic song structure, but I have yet to come up with the lyrics.

There have also been some advances with my comic book life. Two stories of mine will be featured in an anthology: a short story called “The Bite” and the first 12-15 pages or so of THE REDEMPTION PROJECT. I will have copies for sale. When I know more, so will you!

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in accountability, artist, blog, class a license, comic book, creative writing, employment, family, guitar, guitar playing, health, home, job, kids, life, martial arts, music, observation, OCFS, perseverance, random, sadness, the redemption project, truck driver, trucker, wife, wing chun, Writing, zombies. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to News from the Road

  1. Jose_PeneGrande says:

    Get a job closer to home, my man! La Familia NEEDS a daddy to be aound.

  2. wcman1976 says:

    LOL…if it were that easy, then I’d already have a local job.

Leave a Reply

