The New Start

Today I will be jumping into Insanity: the Asylum, Volume One. Not only that, but I will be also following the nutrition guide…sort of. I went through the book with my wife Diana; she has to follow a nutritional guide that is a little more restricted on carbohydrates. So what we did was come up with the best meals for the both of us by using the nutrition guides from Asylum, P90X and P90X 2. As I put this meal plan together, I kept Asylum’s structure in mind: five meals per day, with the first two being 500 and 400 calories respectively, and the other three adding up to about 300 calories each.

I had to fudge the calorie numbers a little bit because here is the deal: I am currently 206 lbs. The nutrition guide told me I would need 2400 calories per day to maintain my weight. Well, I don’t WANT to maintain this weight. My goal is to get down to a point where I actually look like I have some kind of business announcing myself as a health/fitness coach, because right now I don’t look anywhere near the part.

A review of my first day of Asylum will come later. In the meantime, here are my “before” photos. For those of you who have seen other pictures of me, you will notice that being an over-the-road truck driver surprisingly didn’t take too much of a toll on my weight. However, I am still far off from where I want to be. That all changes, starting today!!!

05-07-2013-side

05-07-2013-front

05-07-2013-back

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in abs, accountability, blog, calories, cardio, diet, exercise, fitness, health, home fitness, insanity, insanity the asylum, nutrition, shaun t, team beachbody, truck driver, trucker, Uncategorized, wife, workout and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The New Start

  1. Jose_PeneGrande says:

    Los Dude! You back for good? I weigh, like 306… can you help a bro out?

    • wcman1976 says:

      Sure! Go to “About Me,” then drop down to the “Contact Me” tab. Reach out to me whatever way is best for you, and we’ll get you on the right path!

  2. Jose_PeneGrande says:

    Sent you an email, bro. You still on the road doing trucking or you back for good? Do you believe in all of that test boost stuff for fat loss, muscle gain and other ‘stuff?’

    • wcman1976 says:

      Jose,

      I didn’t see an email. 😦 Could you send one with the subject line “Jose from WordPress” so I don’t mistake it for spam?

      As for your two questions, (1) I think I secured a trucking job that will have me home every weekend, but unfortunately the “home nightly” type of job has still eluded me. (2) What kind of test boost stuff do you mean? Are you talking about all the different pills they market as fat burners and that sort? If so, then I have to say that the only fat burner pill I ever took was Xenadrine, although I didn’t take it for too long. I noticed SOME weight loss and no adverse effects, but I’d still be cautious about anything that promises short cuts like that.

  3. Jose_PeneGrande says:

    I am talking about the test boost stackers like enzyte, horned goat weed, macca and all of that stuff. I understand that they burn fat, make you ripped and put some extra lead in the ol’ boom boom stick, if you’re catching my driftwood. I get dizzy when I take my stack, not sure if it’s from the increased blood flow or my diabetes. Good luck with the new trucking position.

  4. Jose_PeneGrande says:

    You should try ’em, bro! I been burning fat like my backside is on fire! Well, it kinda is… one of the side effects of the macca is that I get the runs. It ain’t pretty. But, lookit, I been emailing you, I guess you too busy right now. I am down to 292 now, mainly from them pills, I’m guessing. I been gobbling them up. The extra lead in my pencil is a nice side effect too. I don’t need it, but my wife don’t mind! Hah!! Anyway, I gotta get at you, bro. You gotta teach me how to do them px90 exercises and some plyometrical stretches. Get at me soon, big daddy.

  5. Jose_PeneGrande says:

    278!! Losing weight with NO exercise. Yet. It’s them pills, you may think I am a pendejo, but it be WORKING, daddy. Gotta tell you, some other dude offered to train me but I was like chinga su madre!! I am waiting on you, big daddy. Get at me. I gotta learn how to do planks and different types of cardio breathing. Que te den por el culo, my friend!!

    • wcman1976 says:

      I haven’t reeived any emails from you. I wrote to you at the email that appears when you leave comments, and it was sent back to me with the message that there was no such user. Put “Jose from WordPress” in your subject line and try sending again.

  6. Jose_PeneGrande says:

    My bad, daddy. I thought I provided the proper nomenclature on the email heading. We gotta hook it up, Quiero poner mi pene en el culo!! Soon, bro-bro.

Leave a Reply

