ASYLUM VOLUME ONE: Days 2 and 3 (Speed and Agility-Strength)

The schedule for this may seem a bit off because the fit test didn’t count as day 1 as far as the Asylum calendar is concerned, but I counted it that way.

Day 2 was really something. I never realized how uncoordinated I was until I did this workout. You have to put this “agility ladder” on the floor and do lots of exercises where you are going in and out of it…without hitting it, of course. I’d say I hit it at least 60% of the time, and that is being generous. Still, I did what I could. And I know from the past that I will get beter.

Strength was an AWESOME workout, and I’m glad to see Shaun T included some weightlifting exercises into this program. (One of my biggest concerns with Insanity was losing any muscle I had built up during P90X. This time around, it’s not as much of a problem.) I forget the name of my favorite move, but there was one exercise where you did a bicep curl, squatted, went down to plank and did a push-up. That was round one. After that you would take turns bringing both feet up to your hands. Then, in the third round, you added in eight mountain climbers.

Oh, and in a HUGE fitness development (which I forgot to mention here), my Power Blocks finally arrived…and I was able to put them to the test with this workout.

I can’t wait to see what the other workouts are like.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in analysis, biceps, cardio, core, endurance, energy, exercise, fitness, home fitness, insanity, insanity the asylum, muscle, muscle mass, P90X, power blocks, push-ups, shaun t, speed and agility, strength, strength training, stretching, team beachbody, tony horton, weightlifting, weights, workout. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ASYLUM VOLUME ONE: Days 2 and 3 (Speed and Agility-Strength)

  1. native88 says:

    Steve! Awesome to hear you are doing this. Looking forward to reading your experience with Asylum. I can’t decide between this or P90X2 yet.

    • wcman1976 says:

      Adam,

      Holw cow, man…it’s been ages since I talked to you! I’ll have to get on that more often, seeing as how I am your Beachbody Coach and all. 🙂 As for choice, it all depends on what your fitness goals are. I’ll reach out to you on Facebook, and we will talk more.

Leave a Reply

