The Past Few Months, and Ideas for the Future

Well, it has been a long, crazy time since I got back from Swift. Yes, just the past couple months of my life have felt like a year…which sucks, because it makes me feel older than I am, and as of this writing I am about to REALLY be older than I am because my birthday is tomorrow!

Where do I start? I guess back in May. In order to work for Sysco I had to take a lifting test, which I failed. That left me without a job. After that it was a quick scramble to find anything that would get me working again. I tried Rist, where they drive 10-speeds. I had to take a road test, and I told the gentleman testing me, “I’ve developed certain habits from driving an 8-speed for four months, so it might take me a while to warm back up to 10-speed.” He said he understood. Within five minutes of the test, I was getting the hang of where the two extra gears were.

After the test he told me I did all right, that he understood I was nervous because I was testing, and that he just wanted to see me looking in my mirror more. Then I had to wait while he called his supervisor about how I did. He came back out and told me to call his supervisor later in the day. I did, and the supervisor told me, “Yeah, so and so said you didn’t do too good.”

I was stunned.

I said, “He told me I did all right. He just wanted me to look in my mirrors more.”

The supervisor said, “Well, that’s not what he relayed to me. It sounds like we’d have to invest more training in you than we would like to.”

I said, “Well, you know what? If that is the kind of sneaky, deceitful behavior your company engages in, then I wouldn’t want to work for you anyway.”

After that I nearly had a job with the Averill Park School District, but there was a catch: instead of just calling your references, they had to send out letters to the people I listed, and then the people had to fill out some kind of form answering questions about me, which they then had to mail BACK. Long story short: my reference letters were only just mailed out the day that their responses had to be turned in to the school district. The supervisor said, “The next time you can be submitted is June 28, but that is a moot point because I’m on vacation until the end of August, and I’m the only one who can process that paperwork.”

So…three driving jobs, three strikes, I’m out. I decided my little foray into the world of driving was an interesting and expensive lesson: I’m not really cut out for that kind of work. I need a job that has me home more than once a month. I have a wife and four kids to see. Plus I needed one with insurance that was WAY better than what the trucking companies had to offer.

I needed some kind of employment, so I immediately hit up all the temp agencies I could think of. In early May/late June I took the test for United States Postal Service. Also in early June I took the test for Parole Officer Trainee 1.

Finally, in mid- to late-June, I got a temp job. It’s in a factory, which is a place I have never worked before. The hours are long (always 12 hour days), and every two weeks I switch from days to overnights. It’s a pretty good job, and there is the chance to be promoted to machine operator someday.

In the meantime, I still try to work on Beachbody. My feet are sore at the end of every day, and they hurt even on my days off, so I haven’t been able to do any Beachbody workouts when I get home. However, I’m still getting some exercise in because this is a very physical job. Plus it has helped fine-tune my nutrition because we can’t eat on the production floor, so I’m not eating unhealthy snacks throughout the day like I would in an office job.

Lately I’ve decided it’s time to start self-publishing my poetry collections through any electronic means possible: Amazon, PubIt with Barnes and Noble (now known as Nook Press, I believe), and anything else. I can always promote it by social media and by going to various open mics to recite some poems. I could also try organizing poetry readings from various local authors, just like I used to do with music. Last but not least, I want to revise one of my novels for publication in a similar manner…not to mention maybe hunting down some literary agents that represent screenplays and get those bad boys back out there.

The dream of teaching wing chun is still there, but I have some debt to get out of before I can take lessons again. I need to learn and get good at the whole system before I can strike out on my own, and that is a LONG way off.

But I’m holding on to it. By God…unless I fall victim to an accident that CRIPPLES me…I will accomplish my dreams.

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in accountability, blog, business, class a license, confidence, diet, driving, employment, exercise, family, fitness, food, health, health insurance, home, home fitness, insurance, job, life, novels, nutrition, observation, P90X, pain, perseverance, personal development, poetry, random, rant, screenplays, short stories, team beachbody, truck driver, trucker, unemployed, wife, workout, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

