Music and Its Importance in My Life

I tend to let my mind wander when I drive. (Don’t worry…this doesn’t mean I weave back and forth!) The reason for this is because wherever I have to go (whether it is work or an appointment) is far, FAR from where I live. Naturally, I get bored just staring out the window…even when I have a good CD on.

Today’s music of choice was the new My Bloody Valentine album, released approximately TWENTY-TWO YEARS after they released LOVELESS. As I got lost inside the swirling distorted guitars, I thought about music in general. When I was a kid, my whole life was music. I caught 120 Minutes on MTV every Sunday night. If I bought a band’s latest album and found out they had released any albums before that, then I would go back and buy the entire catalog.

In 1998 I worked at a restaurant called Cracker Barrel. I was a dishwasher, and I worked with this guy Ted. He was a fan of classic rock music, which I liked myself. So I asked him if he ever heard of some band (probably the Pumpkins, knowing me), and he said, “No, I haven’t followed any new bands since the eighties.”

I remember thinking, “Wow, that is never going to be me. I’m going to be on top of all the new, indie bands forever. Music is what I’m all about!”

Now here I am at 37, and that IS me. I haven’t heard a new album since 1999. Well, there are a few exceptions to that. However, most of them are albums that are released by bands I became a fan of in the nineties. (Examples: the new Valentines album, the Pumpkins’ OCEANIA, Dinosaur Jr., the Flaming Lips, and so on.) I think the only artist I listen to who came out after the nineties is Adele.

Well, what can I say? At the time I declared that I would never be Ted, I had no girlfriend, no children, hardly any social life…hell, I didn’t even get full-time hours at Cracker Barrel. Responsibilities kind of crept up on me, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. I’d rather spend a day with my wife and kids than be on top of the latest release by some indie rock band.

It’s true what John Lennon said in that song he wrote for his son Sean, “Life’s what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.” And sometimes what happens to you is even more rewarding than what you were planning for!

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in adele, alice in chains, article, CDs, creative writing, dinosaur jr., driving, employment, family, flaming lips, indie, job, kids, life, marriage, music, my bloody valentine, nostalgia, observation, oceania, off-topic, random, rant, smashing pumpkins, wife, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Music and Its Importance in My Life

  1. Don Bosco says:

    Where you working at? What factory? Loveless is the Sargent Pepper’s of modern-alt-indie rock.

  2. Don Bosco says:

    The Tissue factory? What you doing there?

  3. Don Bosco says:

    What you doing on the floor? Stacking? Driving? Running? What.

  4. lenglish0309 says:

    Great post! As a music junkie, I can appreciate your love of and loyalty to the bands you grew up with. After all, they were there for all of the important milestones that formed you and helped you become the person you are. Music is of the things I would hate to ever have to give up. It is such a huge part of our lives.

    • wcman1976 says:

      I agree, but what I’m saying is I need to find some outlet that will allow me to still get new bands and music into my life. In the 90’s it was 120 Minutes on MTV. Now that is long gone…I have a wife and four kids…one full-time job, and odds are I am going to get a second one before long. However, I don’t think having all these responsibilities should mean I have to cut out something I enjoy! Like you said, the music I listened to growing up was what shaped me…but does that I stopped shaping myself in 1999? Good Lord, I hope not! LOL

      One source USED to be Pandora, where I would create a channel for the bands I liked, and then it would play SIMILAR bands. Unfortunately I am no longer in the kind of job where I can listen to music all day. Plus I now have a data plan with a monthly limit of only 2 GB, so I can’t sit there streaming all day, every day.

      Something will give soon, and I will get back to one of my old loves.

  5. Jay Floyd says:

    I love Music…and even blogged about it too. Regardless of what culture you go into, music is a part of it. I LOVE music…I can’t imagine life without it!!

    • wcman1976 says:

      Jay, thanks for the comment! You are absolutely right. I feel the same way. In fact, this may be wrong of me but, when I meet someone who ISN’T a music fan, I am immediately suspicious of them!

Leave a Reply

