Thoughts on Recording Songs

Eventually I plan on getting into home recording again. Today I was giving it more thought than usual.

In the past, my problem was I didn’t know how to mix a full-length album properly. When you buy a CD in a store, you know that you can go home and listen to it in its entirety with the volume pegged at one level. You don’t have to worry about turning it up for acoustic songs or down for loud ones. I was able to mix each SONG properly, but I never got the hang of mixing an entire CD to be heard at the same volume.

Then it struck me: these days people hardly ever buy CD’s. So all I have to do is make sure I mix each song properly and put them out there one at a time. (The only exception to this rule would be the 18 songs that compromise my concept album, but then again I still plan on getting that done in an actual studio instead of at home.) Granted, if someone were to put all my songs on a playlist, they might run into the same problem…but hey, at least I know I mixed each individual tune to the best of my ability.

Or who knows? Maybe someday I will stop being lazy and look up some free tutorials on how to mix an entire CD in this manner. It’s not the BIGGEST concern because it will be a long time before I can do home recording again anyway.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in acoustic, CDs, concept album, music, observation, off-topic, random, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

