A Disturbing (Fitness) Discovery

As some of you may know, for the last three months I was working as a temp at Cascades Tissue Group. It was an okay job, but there were certain parts of it that made it NOT a good fit for me: (1) 12 hour shifts, (2) “swing” shifts (I worked days for 2 weeks then had to switch to overnights for 2 weeks, and (3) my days off changed every week. The pay was pretty good, but it was kind of low for my life situation. I needed a second job but, with the swing shift and changing days off, that would have been impossible. The only way to earn more money would have been to do overtime, but my feet were already screaming by the end of my regular work week. I couldn’t punish myself with more overtime there.

On top of this, I was unable to work out. By the time I got home, my feet were in no shape for it. They hurt so bad that I could barely even walk around on my days off. So I said, “Well, no worries. Once I get back to an office job, I will get back into it.”

As the months went by, I knew I wouldn’t be able to pick up exercising where I left off. The last program I did was Insanity: the Asylum, volume 1. My intention was to roll into the P90X/Asylum hybrid. By early August, I had a feeling that wouldn’t be possible.

I didn’t know HOW “not possible” it was until yesterday. I am sharing this with you folks in the name of accountability.

The other day I took my son and niece to the playground behind my old grammar school (PS 16, for posterity’s sake). At one point or another they got the idea to start chasing me around…and I got to tell you, I was SHOCKED at how quickly I got winded!

I’ve lost a lot of weight working at Cascades because we couldn’t have food out on the production floor, so I ate only on breaks/lunch…AND I ate healthy. Plus it also helped that the job was physical (stacking semi-heavy boxes), which meant I gained a little muscle. However, there was absolutely NOTHING endurance-related about that job except the long hours, but long hours of standing around isn’t enough to help build your stamina!

So, long story short, I’m glad I was able to take them to the playground yesterday. If I hadn’t gotten that indication of how low my stamina has gotten, then I probably would have tried leaping back in with the P90X/Asylum hybrid. I wouldn’t have been able to make it through a workout, which would have discouraged me. Once people get discouraged, they often give up. With me, I would have probably forced myself along, but I wouldn’t get the results I was looking for!

In other words, I will GLADLY begin my fitness journey anew with 10 Minute Trainer.

I hope some of you enjoyed reading this article. In fact, I’m curious if anyone else has been in the same situation. So please, I encourage you to leave comments below!

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in 10 Minute Trainer, abs, accountability, analysis, arms, article, back, biceps, blog, cardio, chest, core, core cardio, crunches, endurance, energy, exercise, fitness, fitness assessment, health, home fitness, impressions, insanity, insanity the asylum, job, life, muscle, nutrition, P90X, perseverance, results, review, shaun t, strength, team beachbody, tony horton, total body, weightlifting, weights, work, workout, yoga flex. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

