Second Job Blues

For those of you who browse around this site, you will know that I am 37, a college graduate, a husband, and a father of four. Right now I’m a temp at an office job where (they claim) if you want to advance, the sky is the limit.

Unfortunately they aren’t clear on how much time you have to do in your current position before you can move up. They say 6 months, but there is a discrepancy. Some people say your 3 months as a temp count toward the 6; others say you go back to zero and temps actually wind up having to put in NINE months.

I wouldn’t be surprised if it were the latter. (Usually your time as a temp doesn’t mean squat once you switch to their payroll.) However, I had my hopes up that it WOULD count because someone who is fairly high up on the food chain here said it did.

So anyway, since the current job doesn’t pay enough, I had to take up a second one at a convenience store. For the most part I like it, but I hate that my wife and son are asleep when I leave and asleep when I get home.

As far as my coworkers, I lucked out because there is only one that I can’t stand. This girl (who I will just call Spaz, because she is) is 21 years old and thinks she is the boss, simply because she has been working there for a year. (Meanwhile, this other kid who has been working there for THREE years, never adopts that kind of attitude.) Here is a quick example of why I dislike her:

Yesterday I worked 3-9pm. Spaz came in at 7pm. Up until she got there, I had been doing various things like stocking the cooler, taking out trash and other random things that had me running around the store. When she got in, I was all done with that and I decided to wipe down the counter tops over near the coffee pots.

Spaz comes over and says, “Did you wipe down the fountain machine?”

I said, “Not yet.”

I could not believe the words that came out of her mouth next, but I swear to you…as plain as day, this snot that JUST earned the right to legally drink, said this:

“Why not?”

I turned around, too stunned to even talk at first. My mind was overrun with things I could say…very few of them professional. However, I got a hold of myself before I could get in trouble. I explained to her that I had been stocking and JUST got around to cleaning the counters.

But in my mind, I wanted to say something like, “Why don’t YOU clean it?” Or “Excuse me but when did YOU become the boss?” I’m standing there, sixteen years her senior, a college graduate, an intelligent person…and I am being lectured about whether or not I WIPE DOWN A FRICKIN’ SODA MACHINE?????

I do the best I can though. I try to keep my head up. I try to keep on thinking to myself: give it anywhere from 6 months to a year, and I won’t need that job anymore. I’ll be in a higher position at my full-time job, and she’ll still be there going on her convenience store power trip.

It isn’t always easy to do, but I try. Every single day.

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in article, blog, ego, employment, family, frustration, job, kids, observation, off-topic, perseverance, rant, wife, work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

