Complacency=Living Death

I was reading something on Facebook where someone was griping about illegal immigrants who get rental assistance, premium- and copay-free medical assistance, food stamps and so on. Meanwhile the people who DO file a tax return and live here legally are told they make too much.

There were quite a few comments in reply to this post. One of them was, “How can we allow this to happen? Doesn’t anyone want to DO anything about this?”

It got me thinking: a long time ago, people DIDN’T tolerate things like that. People would band together and tell our political leaders that we weren’t going to take their BS. And people did it even when it came to injustices that didn’t affect them!

Example: think of the 1960’s, when Martin Luther King led the march on Washington. Look at the people in that march. Who was in it? Was it only black people? NO! There were white people as well. Were whites the ones forced to drink from different fountains, use different doors to enter places? Again, the answer is NO, but they felt so strongly about these issues that they marched for change as well.

Now in the issue described on Facebook, that affects anyone who lives in the United States regardless of race, religion, etc. And yet no one wants to do a damn thing about it. No one wants to do ANYTHING anymore.

I remember when I was working for the state. There was some rule that they had imposed on us, and I said, “That’s a dumb rule.” What was the braindead, mind-numbing, “Thinking INSIDE the box” response that I got?

“Well, that’s the way it’s always been.”

SO WHAT??? Who cares how long a rule has been in place? That doesn’ make it right! For proof of that, go back to what I said about Dr. King and his march on Washington. Segregation laws had been around for a LONG time, but did that make them right? Following the mindset of my state coworkers, I guess King should have just said, “Oh well, that’s the way it is!”

When and how did we become so complacent, so willing to be led around like mindless cows? And how the hell do we CHANGE this?

Maybe we should shoot down all the cable satellites. Maybe if people didn’t have 1500 channels of nothing to watch, they’d get mad about something again and, more importantly, get off their asses to DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT.

For some reason most people just like being told what to do without questioning, but I am definitely not most people. In my mind, there is one equation that always rings true, that I will never forget, that you can never prove wrong:

COMPLACENCY EQUALS DEATH

Do you agree? I mean, if you are going to just let yourself be ordered around and not bother to say anything, even when you are clearly being mistreated, then you might as well be dead.

If any of you have any thoughts on this, feel free to comment below. In fact, on this more than any other article, I encourage it.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in analysis, article, blog, complacency, excuses, frustration, impressions, injustice, inspiration, life, martin luther king jr., observation, off-topic, random, rant, sadness, segregation. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Complacency=Living Death

  1. Pingback: empowerment in the age of complacency « tattoos, patriotism, and parenting

Leave a Reply

