P90X2 and Asylum: My Functional Fitness Answers

As some of you may know from previous posts, I’m on a big kick now to get into functional fitness for my wing chun training. I started rereading THE ART OF EXPRESSING THE HUMAN BODY, a book by John Little that is all about Bruce Lee’s workout routine.

Going this route will involve buying some equipment I don’t have money for right now, so I decided to review my Beachbody workouts and determine if any of them fit the mold, or at least came close enough for now.

The three main things you have to worry about when you are a martial artist are strength, endurance and flexibility. With this list as a guideline, I started whittling away at the programs I have.

When I thought of the word endurance, Insanity immediately came to mind. However, the only kind of weighted exercise you do in this program is push-ups. Nowhere near enough muscle-building moves. This program alone would not be the answer.

Its sequels Asylum Volume 1 and 2 also popped up. Here we have endurance AND more strengthening exercises. I haven’t done Volume 2 yet, but I know Volume 1 STILL didn’t have a lot of upper body strengthening…at least, not enough for my tastes.

To get more muscles, I’d have to include the good old standby P90X. While weak in the endurance department, this one DOES include several other things I need: weightlifting for strength, yoga for balance and flexibility, X Stretch for flexibility and Core Synergistics for core work.

Just to make sure I was on the right track, I posed my question on the Team Beachbody discussion forums. It turns out I wasn’t too far off: the responses I got suggested P90X 2 and Asylum Volume 2.

I’m glad I found that answer though. Why? Because I already own both those programs!

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in abs, accountability, arms, back, balance, biceps, cardio, chest, core, core workout, crunches, endurance, energy, fitness, flexibility, health, home fitness, insanity, insanity the asylum, kenpo, legs, martial arts, muscle, observation, P90X, p90x 2, shaun t, shoulders, strength, strength training, team beachbody, tony horton, triceps, upper body, weightlifting, weights, wing chun, workout, yoga, yoga x. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

