My Own Martial Arts Ebook!

As of yesterday I started composing my own martial arts ebook. This is is not a “how to” on wing chun kung fu. (I don’t even know the whole system, so how could I write a book on it?) In fact, I plan on mentioning wing chun as little as possible.

So what’s it about? The book is meant more as a guide to people who are interested in martial arts but may not be studying one yet. I give a brief history of the arts, as well as tie some styles to their country of origin. After that, I go into the benefits of martial arts training and try to help people figure out which style they should pick.

The final three sections of the book will cover topics I hardly ever see addressed in martial arts books:

1) THE SELF-DEFENSE MENTALITY: Not a lot of schools train their students in this. It’s one thing to practice an arm-breaking maneuver in class. It’s something completely different to have to actually do it to another human being, just like there is a difference between target practice and having to aim your gun at another person. You KNOW that the person who took a swing at you is wrong, and yet it is in your nature to be civilized…even when faced with such antisocial action.

2) WHAT ABOUT THE LAW: Ages ago I used to have a subscription to INSIDE KUNG FU magazine. During the years I read it, I saw only one article on self-defense and the law. I think this is a topic that needs discussion in a book.

3) SUPPLEMENTAL FITNESS: This section will probably be read only by those who are super dedicated to their art, but I HAD to throw it in there. Those who want to excel will quickly realize their martial arts training will take them only so far before their strength, stamina and flexibility hit a plateau. When that happens, it will be time to look for alternate methods.

I’m not sure when the book will be done, how long it will be, or how I will make it available. Once I have a more definite answer, I will post it here!

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in analysis, art, article, book, books, cardio, creative writing, ebooks, endurance, exercise, fighting, fitness, flexibility, health, home fitness, inspiration, life, martial arts, off-topic, self-defense, self-expression, strength, teaching, wing chun, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Own Martial Arts Ebook!

  1. native88 says:

    Good idea, Steve. I find that people are often limited by what is geographically available to them. Some help on how to evaluate schools and teachers would be a big help. Good luck!

    • wcman1976 says:

      Adam, thanks for the reply! I am currently working on the “how do I pick a style” segment. After that is the sefl-defense mindset, self-defense and the law, and supplemental fitness.

      I hesitate to call it a “book” because so far it is only 8 pages long and probably wno’t be above 15. It is more like a martial arts e-pamphlet! LOL

Leave a Reply

