Begin Again: P90X Nutrition, 10 Minute Trainer Workouts

Well, today I made an impromptu decision to begin 10 Minute Trainer again. I’m going to do 20 minutes a day for now, for a couple reasons:

1) I’m just getting back into working out.
2) I work two jobs, so 20 minutes is about all I can manage right now.
3) I want to build up to two other workout programs that I will be buying very soon: Focus T25 and P90X 3. If I can build my fitness level up by the time those are released, I will be able to put in the few extra minutes and (hell of a lot of) extra effort without leaving myself crashed and burned for the next day at work.

Aside from the workouts, I have also picked today to start following the energy booster phase of the P90X nutrition guide. Each phase of the guide has three levels, and I decided to go with level 2. Also, rather than go by the meal plans (which can lead to a VERY expensive grocery list), I chose the portions approach. This means I have to get the following servings:

PROTEIN: 6
DAIRY: 2
FRUIT: 1
VEGETABLES: 3
FATS: 1
CARBOHYDRATES: 3
SNACKS: 3

Naturally, by “snacks” they don’t mean Snickers bars. They mean things like a cup of cottage cheese or a handful of raw nuts.

The list of foods you can choose from to meet that one fat intake is a very small one. I don’t have the book in front of me, but I want to say it’s less than ten items. One of the items is avocado, which I love, but they are pricy. They also have flaxseed oil, olives and olive oil on the list as well. I’ve never been a super huge olive fan, but then again I never really hated them either.

Last but not least, I am going to begin consuming at least 8 glasses of water per day again. I used to fill up an empty one gallon Arizona iced tea container when I got to work, but I stopped doing that for a while.

Time to regain the discipline. Time to find the warrior within!
*****
If you are someone who wants to get into better shape but finds it very difficult to find a fitness routine for you (time, money, lack of motivation, etc.), then I can help! Despite being a family man (wife and 4 kids) and working two jobs, I’ve managed to fit martial arts AND fitness training into my schedule! To find out how to join forces with me, check out this video!

https://wcman1976.wordpress.com/about/contact-me/

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in 10 Minute Trainer, accountability, article, calories, carbohydrates, diet, energy, energy booster, excitement, exercise, fats, fitness, food, health, home fitness, inspiration, motivation, nutrition, observation, P90X, protein, results, review, rules, shakeology, supplements, team beachbody, tony horton, weight, weightlifting, weights, workout. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Begin Again: P90X Nutrition, 10 Minute Trainer Workouts

  1. Good for you! I haven’t done that program, but I started with Power 90. Perfect way to “knock the rust off” and get in the habit of working out regularly! Good luck!

    I’m a Beachbody coach and I can’t wait to try P90X3!

    • wcman1976 says:

      Thanks for the comment! I am a Beachbody coach too. My business has stalled for a while, but then again I am not much of a “product of the product” at the moment. Hoping to change that once I get some workouts that I can actually do!

Leave a Reply

