10 Minute Trainer: Upper Body-Core Cardio-Day 1

Yes, I am back! The other day I made a decision once I got to work that it was time to start working out again. I went into the Super Gym on wwww.teambeachbody.com and loaded in the auto-schedule for it. I picked the Accelerated Results program, and I also decided to do 20 minutes per day.

Why 20 instead of 10? Because I need that extra 10 to get my fitness level back up. Also, I want to get used to working out that much. In the near future I plan on doing P90X 3 (which is 30 minutes a day) and Focus T25 (25 minutes per day). Doing 20 minutes per day now will get me used to devoting some time to exercise. That way, it won’t seem like such an unrealistic jump to go from 20 to 25 or 30.

And on top of that, I have fallen way down the fitness ladder. During Upper Body there were way too many times when I had to stop, even though I was using only the medium resistance bands!

Core Cardio was a different story. I was able to last for much more of it. I was also able to push myself. There is one move called Towel Hop Squats where you put a towel on the floor and hop from one side to the next, but that isn’t all: you start out with your arms reached over your head and then, when you jump over, you bend down so you can reach the floor. After 45 seconds this had my legs BURNING, but I kept going anyway.

In the past, I would have given up or done the modification where you reach down only to just below your knees. Not yesterday though.

Tonight will be the original Cardio routine and Core Cardio. Can’t wait to see how winded this one gets me!
*****
If you are someone who wants to get into better shape but finds it very difficult to find a fitness routine for you (because of time, money, lack of motivation, etc.), then I can help! Despite being a family man (wife and 4 kids) and working two jobs, I’ve managed to fit martial arts AND fitness training into my schedule! To find out how to join forces with me, check out this video!

https://wcman1976.wordpress.com/about/contact-me/

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in 10 Minute Trainer, accountability, arms, article, back, biceps, blog, cardio, chest, core, core cardio, core workout, endurance, energy, equipment, excitement, exercise, fatigue, fitness, Focus T25, health, home fitness, legs, motivation, muscle, observation, P90X 3, perseverance, progress, resistance bands, results, review, shoulders, soreness, strength, strength training, team beachbody, tony horton, train, training, triceps, upper body, weight, weightlifting, weights, workout and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 10 Minute Trainer: Upper Body-Core Cardio-Day 1

  1. Good for you, my daughter was here for a week, and I didn’t workout. Sometimes we just have to do it instead of thinking about it. The move you mentioned “Towel Hop Squats” sounds intense. I have never come across that move, but do two different moves like it that are separate.

  2. wcman1976 says:

    Thanks for the comment. I agree with what you said, and it reminds me of a line Bruce Lee had in ENTER THE DRAGON: “Don’t think! FEEEEELLL!!!” A lot of things pop up in our lives that keep us from working out. If we want, we could get caught up in the excuses…but the truth is, if we wait for the stars to align JUST RIGHT, then we will hardly ever work out. In my experience, people that have no time will suddenly MAKE time if things are important enough for them. That is the trick, and that is what each person has to say to themselves: “Is fitness REALLY that important to me, or am I just SAYING it is?”

    Interesting that you point out how you have come across moves that are SEPARATE. Right there you have stumbled upon what makes this program so unique: Tony Horton designed it with something called a Super Stacking technique. You are working 2-3 muscle groups at a time. In other workouts, you might not necessarily be doing that. Right there you have your answer as to why you were doing two different moves while I was doing only one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

