10 Minute Trainer: Cardio-Core Cardio-Day 2

Some of you may think my fingers stuttered when I made the title of this post. Cardio and Core Cardio? What’s the difference?

Well, first of all Core Cardio comes only with the Deluxe edition of 10 Minute Trainer. Second, this workout consists of moves that will also work your core instead of just pure cardio moves.

I worked up a good sweat during these two workouts, although I didn’t feel the fatigue set in as early as it did the night before. However, I DID feel the same burn in my legs during Towel Hop Squat.

I don’t really like the last two moves in Core Cardio. For the record, they are called Arc Twist and Reaching Skater. So instead of doing them, I took the opportunity to run through chum kiu. (For those of you who don’t follow this blog on a regular basis, chum kiu is the name of the second form you learn in my martial art style of choice, wing chun kung fu.)

Actually there was a second reason to do the form instead of those two exercises: I’m still working on that one piece of advice Sifugave me at my last lesson. He said I’m very good with my upper body mechanics, but it isn’t connected to my LOWER body.

In wing chun,BODY MECHANICS is everything. It’s what allows a smaller person to be able to hit harder than a bigger person. If the mechanics are right, you’d be amazed what you can do. Some people think I was overcharged by Sifu when I went to an hour-long lesson and he asked me X amount of money…but believe me, for those out there who understand the importance of what he showed me, it was worth it.

In any event, even though I’ve chosen to do 20 minutes per day, tonight consists of just one workout: Yoga Flex. That’s good because I work both jobs today, so I could use a break!

*****
If you are someone who wants to get into better shape but finds it very difficult to find a fitness routine for you (because of time, money, lack of motivation, etc.), then I can help! Despite being a family man (wife and 4 kids) and working two jobs, I’ve managed to fit martial arts AND fitness training into my schedule! To find out how to join forces with me, check out this video!

https://wcman1976.wordpress.com/about/contact-me/

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in 10 Minute Trainer, accountability, analysis, article, blog, body mechanics, calories, calories burned, cardio, chum kiu, cichon's wing chun, core, core cardio, core workout, discipline, energy, exercise, fatigue, fitness, health, home fitness, kung fu, life, martial arts, motivation, muscle, observation, perseverance, results, review, russ cichon, self-defense, Sifu, soreness, strength training, team beachbody, tony horton, train, training, upper body, wing chun, workout, Writing, yoga, yoga flex and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

