Wing Chun: Chum Kiu and 10 Minute Trainer

For reasons I don’t care to go into, last night was my first night home in a week. All I wanted to do was cuddle up to my wife and go to sleep, but I had an inner voice nagging me to do my workouts. So I did.

First up was 10 Minute Trainer Abs. This was tough, as always. I cannot stand Hip Lift Kicks. In fact, I dislike ANY side plank ab exercise. That’s probably because I find myself struggling to keep my balance more than I am able to actually do the movement.

So we all know what that means: if there is a particular move I suck at, then that is the one I should focus on doing!

The second workout for the day was 10 Minute Trainer Core Cardio, which was its usual fun, sweat-inducing self.

As for wing chun, I think things are coming along. Ever since my lesson with Sifu, I’ve been working my stance. Trying to get your whole body connected is really no joke. Now I practice the second form (chum kiu) at a slow, almost meditative pace…while still releasing my energy properly, of course.

Aside from this, I practice my pivot whenever I can. Even if I can’t do the whole form, I pivot from side to side so I can practice “sitting into” my stance. So far things seem to be coming along great!

*****
CALL TO ACTION
*****
If you are someone who wants to get into better shape but finds it very difficult to find a fitness routine for you (because of time, money, lack of motivation, etc.), then I can help! Despite being a family man (wife and 4 kids) and working two jobs, I’ve managed to fit martial arts AND fitness training into my schedule! To find out how to join forces with me, check out this video!

https://wcman1976.wordpress.com/about/contact-me/

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in 10 Minute Trainer, abs, accountability, analysis, art, article, balance, blog, calories, calories burned, cardio, chum kiu, cichon's wing chun, core, core cardio, core workout, crunches, endurance, energy, exercise, fitness, form, health, home fitness, kung fu, lesson, life, martial arts, motivation, muscle, obliques, observation, perfectionism, perseverance, release of energy, results, review, russ cichon, Sifu, strength, strength training, team beachbody, technique, tony horton, train, training, upper body, weight, weightlifting, weights, wife, wing chun, wooden dummy, work, workout and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

