P90X Nutrition Plan: You CAN Afford to Eat Right

Hello everyone, today is day 8 of 10 Minute Trainer AND day 8 of me sticking to the P90x nutrition guide.

All I can say is…so far, so good! I eat little meals here and there throughout the day, and I never feel hungry until it’s time to eat again. Yes, I have had occasional slips (a slice of pizza here, one or two cookies there, and coffee), but more or less I have been doing good.

A lot people think that in order to eat right, you need a lot of expensive ingredients, not to mention a ton of prep time. I’m here to say: it’s just not true.

The key lies in sacrificing some of the variety to make things more affordable. If you were to buy stuff to make every meal in the P90X nutrition guide, then yes…you WILL spend a lot in the grocery store.

What I decided to do was use the “portion approach.” I determined the number of servings of things I needed each day. Then I filled those daily needs by picking items from a food list. I made up a 7-day menu, which served two purposes: (1) it meant I wasn’t buying a lot, BUT (2) still helped me maintain enough variety to not get bored.

So here is a sample of today’s menu. Keep in mind the most expensive item on here is Shakeology but, when you think about the fact that buying one bag of it means you are buying a 30-day supply and then divide that by the price, it becomes apparent how reasonable it is.

Also, for reference’s sake I should let you know the daily servings I try to hit.

*****
PROTEIN: 6
DAIRY: 2
FRUIT: 1
CARBS: 3
VEGETABLES: 3
FAT: 1
SNACKS: 3
WATER: 8
*****
And now, here is the menu itself.

*Shakeology with milk and mixed fruit
*Oatmeal, 2 servings of walnuts
*Tuna sandwich, avocado
*Peppers, carrots, celery
*Protein bar, string cheese

I will consume all of this throughout the day at work. By the time I get home, the only intake requirements I will have to fill are two servings of protein and one serving of dairy.

*****
CALL TO ACTION
*****
If you are someone who wants to get into better shape but finds it very difficult to find a fitness routine for you (because of time, money, lack of motivation, etc.), then I can help! Despite being a family man (wife and 4 kids) and working two jobs, I’ve managed to fit martial arts AND fitness training into my schedule! To find out how to join forces with me, check out this video!

https://wcman1976.wordpress.com/about/contact-me/

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in 10 Minute Trainer, analysis, blog, carbohydrates, diet, discipline, eating, energy booster, exercise, fitness, health, home fitness, lesson, life, money, nutrition, observation, P90X, protein, results, review, shakeology, supplements, support, team beachbody, train, training, workout and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to P90X Nutrition Plan: You CAN Afford to Eat Right

  1. Actually I’ve understood that smaller meals like 6 times a day, are actually in some way healthier for us. What motivated you to start thinking about eating “right?” I’ve heard that the P90X program is a killer. How is the 10 Minute training related?

  2. wcman1976 says:

    Pat, thanks for the comment.

    What motivated me to start eating right is that I have been doing these programs for several years, but I have still gotten nowhere near the fitness gains I should have. The number one way to be a good Beachbody coach is to be “a product of the product.” Right now, I am not…although I am on my way there.

    P90X and 10 Minute Trainer were created by the same man: Tony Horton. 10 Minute Trainer consists of several exercise routines that all last (you guessed it) 10 minutes. It is meant as an entry level program for those who are super out of shape but want to start working out again. Naturally you have the option of doing MORE than 10 minutes a day if you can handle it. Personally, I am doing 20 minutes a day because I’m getting myself mentally prepared to devoting THAT much time to fitness each day. This way, when I get P90X 3 and Focus T25, it won’t seem like such a huge jump to be doing 30 or 25 minutes a day.

    Good questions!

  3. I really enjoyed your post- I’ve become very lazy about my diet recently, and needed to be reminded that little and often is the way to go. I also liked the approach of doing 10 mins of exercise a day. Too often it’s burn up & burn out in quick succession, whereas we’re all looking for something that we can sustain for long periods if not forever. Thanks for the post.

  4. I’ve yet to take the small meal plunge, and the grocery store is my nemesis! I get distracted by new stuff I just have to try out. It’s a habit I gotta break…

  5. jbutler1914 says:

    I haven’t tried P90x. It seems a bit much. I am fine with going to my gym 3-4 days a week lol.

    • wcman1976 says:

      Everyone is different. P90X is more appealing to me because (1) I can’t afford a gym membership, and even if I could, (2) I wouldn’t have time to go there as much as I’d like. (As I am sure you know, the only way to get fitness results is consistency.)

      So my posts aren’t meant to say, “The gym sucks and only Beachbody programs work.” I hope you don’t read any subliminal messages into my words that way. This site is meant to express MY opinion, which is (1) Beachbody programs and supplements do the trick for me, and (2) I think they’d potentially be a great fit for anyone who has a time and money crunch in their lives.

      Now you may wonder, “Money? But those programs are expensive!” Maybe so…but when I buy one, I own it…and that is all there is to it. It’s like paying a one-time, lifetime fee to have a personal trainer live in my home…

      …unless the dog chews on the DVDs, but that is another story!

  6. Ok, I know I’m bad when it comes to my meals. Eating more frequently I know would be good but it will take some discipline. I have used the 10 minute workout (from a book) and it really is very helpful. Now I just need to get over this flu and get bak to normal… LOL.

  7. Wow, when do you find time to sleep? Or do you?! I just started taking pilates and love it. Also I walk a TON, because I live in a very urban area. Nutrition wise, you’re absolutely right – good food doesn’t have to cost a lot, and portion control is important. And if you can buy fresh fruit and vegetables, they’re more appealing than junk any day!

    • wcman1976 says:

      Thanks for the comment!

      I work my two jobs only on 3 days of the week, so it isn’t too bad. LOL As for nutrition, yes I’d rather have an apple or a cup of cooked broccoli over a candy bar any day.

  8. Pamela Heady says:

    I always need motivation! lol I know how to eat right, but just don’t always choose to do it…just read my latest blog about bacon and beer!! I did just recently purchase a treadmill and a home gym that is still being put together. I’m not one to *love* to work out but I know what my former trainer had me doing when I did have a gym membership just last year and I can make leaps and bounds if I’d just use those two pieces of equipment. Of course, they have to be set up in order for me to use them. Guess I should get the treadmill out of the box?? 😉

    • wcman1976 says:

      Pam, thanks for the comment! The thing is: with only two pieces of equipment, I find that I get bored sooner or later. I need to get my body moving in different ways or else I stop. That’s why I like Tony Horton so much; his philosophy is in tune with mine, which is simply this: “Boredom is fitness’s number one enemy.”

  9. I completely agree with you, 5-6 small meals per day, never hungry and you don’t need any diet at all! I will start it from tomorrow again!

    • wcman1976 says:

      Thanks for the comment. You are right: if you diet, you will get a lot of weight loss…but you will get bored and it will all come back! If you get proper nutrition, then you will be fine!

  10. becc03 says:

    I have been eating 6 portion controlled meals a day for quite some time. I dropped almost 20 kgs and have kept the majority off for a few years now. It definitely worked for me.

Leave a Reply

