Germophobia: A Rant

I wasn’t able to do my 10 Minute Trainer workoutslast night, nor was I able to complete a full shift at my day job or go in to my part-time job because I finally succumbed to the stomach bug that was going around my house.

This morning I felt a lot better, but on the way in to work it got me thinking about what a germophobic culture we live in these days. Everything has to be wiped down, sanitized and sterilized into oblivion.

And we wonder why there are so many people allergic to so many things these days!

We were given immune systems for a reason. However, they are kind of like muscles: if they don’t get used, they don’t get stronger. Now am I suggesting we start purposely peeing on our hands when we go to the bathroom or not getting upset when some kid working at McDonald’s sneezes in our food? Of course not, but I AM suggesting a relaxing of the guard. Let me give you an example of what should NOT happen anymore:

*At my day job, the guy in the cubicle across from me blew his nose (into a Kleenex, of course). A woman from the far end of the row RAN down to his desk and rudely shoved a tube of hand sanitizer in his face, demanding that he use it immediately.

*A few years ago, I was supposed to hang out with a friend of mine, who I hadn’t seen in a long time. It was something I’d been looking forward to all week. Just as I was getting out of work, she called me and said, “I won’t be over today. I have to go to the doctor.” When I asked what was wrong, she said, “I have a cold.”

I said, “Really? That’s it? A cold? Stay home, get some sleep and take something!”

These are just two examples, but they represent an epidemic that has been growing for years now. Germs are a part of life, people! You can’t sanitize away all the problems in the world. If you do, eventually we’ll wind up succumbing like the aliens in WAR OF THE WORLDS.

For those of you who haven’t read the book, WAR OF THE WORLDS is about an invasion from Mars. All human weapons prove useless against them. So what are they killed by in the end? Microbial infections. And why did this kill them? Because there is no bacteria on Mars.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in analysis, article, blog, health, impressions, life, observation, off-topic, random, rant, reflective, review, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

