No More Mr. Kickstarter

Things have been so hectic that I didn’t have time to post, but the Kickstarter fund ended with only $52 pledged…out of $1500 as the goal. In the meantime I have decided to go with a different recording studio…one willing to go as low as $10 per hour. As for bassists and drummers: if they won’t take $20 for their assistance, then I won’t hire them. (Believe it or not, I HAVE found people willing to do it for that amount.

As far as I can see it, here is the new cost estimate:

Record 8 songs @ $10/hour: $100 (slightly overestimating for errors and etc.)
Mixing 8 songs @ $10/hour: $100 (again, overestimating)
Bassist, cost per song $20 (4 songs total): $80
Drummer, cost per song $20 (4 songs total): $80
Mastering via Fiverr seller: $40

New Total= $400

Even on a limited budget like mine, this is very affordable. I can pay the recording/mixing guy as I go. His power will be that he doesn’t give me the mixes until I have paid him in full.

Pretty sweet, if I say so. However, to help supplement myself, I may start this up again…but on IndieGoGo, instead of Kickstarter. Why? Because with IndieGogo, you keep what you raise instead of the “all or nothing” model of Kickstarter.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to No More Mr. Kickstarter

  1. Paul Graham says:

    Hey Steve, Interesting info on indiegogo versus kickstarter. Great to see you back again and glad you now seem to be feeling very positive about the prospects

  2. Hi Steve: I think you may have had better success if you’d set up a separate site for your music. Having it here on your martial arts blog is likely not reaching the right audience. If you do an Indiegogo campaign, that’s what I’d suggest. Set up a new WP blog that is music focused, and in your video, talk about how important music is in your life. Show more enthusiasm, and get someone else to shoot it for you so that you’re not looking down at the camera (your phone.) I hope these tips help!

    • wcman1976 says:

      I have posted more about this on other forms of social media than here, and besides…title aside, this site isn’t JUST about fitness or martial arts. After going over the sites of several other Beachbody coaches (all Beachbody, all the time!!!), I decided it’d be a good idea to shake up the subject matter a little bit. As for the video, I have seen a LOT worse on that site. I don’t believe in whistles and bells; usually people bring in the acrobats and knife throwers because they don’t have any real substance. Simple, direct, honest: that is me, and that is my video. I have even gotten feedback from people who expressed that exact sentiment.

      I appreciate the comment and suggestions.

  3. Meredith says:

    Best of luck to you! I can tell you’re determined to do this, so I can’t wait to hear the final product.

Leave a Reply

