New Venture: WageFarer

Hello everyone,

I am going to make yet another detour from fitness and martial arts on this blog to tell you about a new venture I have participated in: a new website called WageFarer. The site’s purpose is similar to other freelance sites out there, with a few fundamental differences:

1) The majority of the services have to be delivered in person. Examples: lawn care, pet care, babysitting, etc.

2) While other sites have lost focus of the fact that both buyers AND sellers are important, we will not…and we NEVER will. (Having been a seller on a freelance site that will go unnamed, I can tell you I’ve had many bad experiences where customer service would not get my back. Therefore, I can say with absolute certainty that this site will maintain a healthy balance.)

The premise is simple: you may be good at something or have a certain skill that, while you are good at it, will not land you a full-time job. Or if it does, it will be one with bad pay. WAGEFARER gives you the chance to make some extra money on the side with the very same skill that you once considered “useless.” And in this economy, who doesn’t need extra money?

So go to our main page. Scroll down and browse the job categories. Create a free account. List a service in your area, and start earning. I hope to see you there.

Here is the site itself:

http://www.wagefarer.com

And please “like” us on Facebook:

http://www.facebook.com/wagefare

Also, follow us on Twitter:

twitter.com/wagefarer

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to New Venture: WageFarer

  1. Paul Graham says:

    Hey Steve, interesting to hear about your new venture. Im sure many people currently need to have several irons in the fire and a co-operative venture like this fills a useful role

    • wcman1976 says:

      Thanks, Paul. We have all kinds of job categories over there. I know you have been writing a blog for a while. Well we have a writing and translation category! Check it out if you need an easy way to earn another stream of income.

  2. jacquiegum says:

    Good luck with your venture… sounds like you are trying to achieve the right kind of balance and I hope that works for you.

    • wcman1976 says:

      Jacquie,

      Thank you. Believe me: with the nosedive in quality that some sites have had out there, I think we are the most balanced site you can find.

  3. congrats on the new venture; I wish you the best of luck with it.as they say its all about the people and personalities. the idea isn’t new but the approach should be. take care, max

    • wcman1976 says:

      Max,

      Thanks for the comment, although I’d have to say: no need to point out the idea isn’t new. Some people might take as a negative when there is no need to. Know why? Because it is very rare to find ANY new idea.

      At any rate, the approach is unique in that no one offers these kinds of services. Yes, we do have a category where people can deliver services online or over the phone, but the majority of them have to be done in person.

      Sometimes there just aren’t enough hours in a day. Maybe there is one room in your house you never get cleaned…maybe it’s a battle to run all your errands before close of business…maybe you would like to take acting lessons but you can never afford them AND your schedule conflicts with the time class is held.

      You can find answers to all these problems and more with us.

  4. Tim says:

    Just to reiterate everyone else’s sentiment; good luck on this new venture. I am going to take a closer look and see if it can be of benefit to me. Like you say, who couldn’t use a few extra bucks here and there.

    • wcman1976 says:

      Tim,

      Thanks and good luck! Aside from all the “human services” (or “deliverable services” as we call them), we DO offer a handful of web services. Note the category for writing and translation. 🙂

  5. Duke Stewart says:

    Sounds like an exciting idea. Definitely going to look into this and see if it’s worth a shot. Thanks!

  6. Hey Steve,
    I like how your experiences inform you of a better way and how you thought to add value to others at the same time by creating wagefarer. Good luck with your new venture. I hope it helps tens of thousands of people.

    Best Regards,
    Bill

    • wcman1976 says:

      William,

      Thanks for the comment. The site is still so new that we have less than 10 jobs listed, so please feel free to browse the categories. If you see anything you like, create a job. It’s free so there is nothing to lose!

  7. Mina A Joshi says:

    Good luck with the new venture. I will check it out but am supposing that it must be USA based.

    • wcman1976 says:

      Mina,

      At the moment you are correct. We may expand that, but right now we have hardly any jobs listed in our home state of NY! LOL Once we take over this country, we will expand to yours. 🙂

  8. Welli Tanya says:

    Good initiative Steve and all the best with that venture.

Leave a Reply

