My Novella: “Maybe the Dream Knows What’s Real”

Hopefully my very dark and scary-violent novella “Maybe the Dream Knows What’s Real” will be seeing the light of day in the pages of Spontaneous Spirits. It is around 20,000 words long. Editor Perry Terrell agreed to serialize it…if the writing passes mustard.

The story is written by an unnamed narrator who has several bad encounters/relationships with women until he meets one that immediately enchants him named Lindsay. He puts all his eggs in one basket with her, which proves disastrous…especially since he is an unstable maniac that owns a gun and a hunting knife.

“Dream” was written at a very low point in my life after a break-up where my recent ex-girlfriend invited me to hang out with her and some of her friends, and it wasn’t until later that I found out she went down on some guy in a bathroom…and I was the one who gave her the ride to the house where it happened!

In case you are wondering: yes, this means I wrote an entire story just to get over a break-up. This isn’t the only occasion where this has happened. After my freshman year in college I wrote an entire NOVEL to get over a break-up. That was a story called THE HUMANITARIAN MURDERS.

However, the difference between “Dream” and HUMANITARIAN goes beyond length. It is also a matter of tone. With HUMANITARIAN, I was sad after the end. With “Dream,” I was angry. This meant that in the former story, the fictional girlfriend substitute suffered a sad fate: she committed suicide. In the latter, fictional girlfriend was much worse off.

There is a lot of anger, bitterness and suffering in “Dream.” It’s almost to the point where one might question how well the author’s head is wired…but I don’t care. I refuse to mute it or self-censor. The story will stand as it is, because the only reason it is so scary is because it’s an expression of real emotion. “Dream” is so brutal because it is BRUTALLY HONEST.

And that’s what I’m all about.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

