BRUTAL: The Home Invasion Begins!

On Monday, I finally began my latest writing project: a home invasion style movie. It’s been in the works for a few weeks now, when I made a half-serious comment on Facebook about wanting to make such a movie.

The post went something like, “After watching YOU’RE NEXT, I want to make a home invasion movie!” To my surprise, an actor friend said he would be in it, and then some guy I know from Beachbody chimed in that he would help direct, edit and film it. Yet ANOTHER person agreed to help with camera operation.

I said to myself, “Holy cow…I may have something here!” So I started talking with the potential director. (Let me mention right now that his name is Jerry, so I don’t have to keep typing “potential director” or any other similar silly terms.) We whipped up an outline that satisfied two things for me: (1) There would be plenty of opportunity for creative deaths. (2) I could also work in lots of wing chun-based fight scenes.

Then the whole thing stalled. Why? I had to work on a LOT of things with WageFarer, so that we can hopefully get that off the ground.

Now the work for that has tapered off (SOMEWHAT), and I started writing. The only thing is I had no idea what to call it, so I texted Jerry. He said the title should be based on a martial art move, albeit one that was easy to say.

I said, “Well, wing chun is a close-range combat system. It is quick, effective and brutal.”

He said, “Why not call it QUICK, EFFECTIVE, BRUTAL?”

I said, “Too long, but you know what? BRUTAL works.”

He agreed, and we had our working title!

I am excited to be working on this screenplay, and I hope to be bringing it to a film festival near you before long.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

