BRUTAL: One Week Update

Last Monday I started writing my home invasion movie BRUTAL. As some of you may know, I write everything out by hand first because I can’t bring my laptop to work, but I CAN bring a notebook to scribble in furiously.

And furiously scribble I have. By the end of today, I will be up to 84 handwritten pages. This puts me on a trajectory to have more than enough pages (even when typed out) to make this a feature length, which is good because I worried about how I could stretch this out with such a small cast of characters.

The key is in those characters themselves. I made this one character named Steve the focal point upon which everything else turns. (And no, this doesn’t mean I will be casting myself in the lead. The characters are all named after people that will be involved in the making of it.) He is shown throughout the whole script as being a bully magnet, but he is always in situations where he can’t do anything about it. (For example, one of the other dinner guests frequently confronts him, but Steve doesn’t want to get into a fist fight in someone else’s house.) Then the attack begins, and Steve shows he has quite a few surprises up his sleeve.

Right now I am at a part where the first assault on the house is about to begin. Man, am I excited!

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

