An Artistic Day!

Well, yesterday rocked…on several fronts.

I went to a meeting for an independent filmmaker network group called Upstate Independents. While I didn’t get to do as much networking as I wanted (personally I felt they let the Q&A session with the guest speaker carry on too long), I DID get the names of some people who could help me out with location scouting for BRUTAL. Also, I wound up meeting the mother of a young lady who auditioned for my short movie SOUL IN NEED back in 2010.

This leads nicely into my next point: one of the actors (Jeremy Kovach) from SOUL IN NEED told me he got that movie listed on IMDB, and he is working on getting my other short (A COLD DAY IN HELL) listed there as well.

Last but not least, I was contacted by an old friend from high school named Josh. He has been living in Alaska but is moving home within the next few weeks. He asked if I still play music and said we should jam sometime. I asked what he plays, and he said, “Guitar, bass, drums, and trumpet.”

I said, “Great! If you play drums, all we need is a bassist.”

He said, “Yeah well, I may be selling my drum kit to fund my return to New York.”

Doh! However, he did clarify that is in process…not done yet.

I went on to say that we should make sure he likes my music before we get our hopes up. He said, “Well, I like Billy Corgan so I am sure I will like your stuff.” I sent him a link, and sure enough he DID like it. Then he went on to say how my music would benefit from a good recording. After that he sent me samples of things he did in Garage Band, which sounded great.

Let me see…what else? Oh yes, he asked if I can play lead guitar and I said yes. He told me he had only dabbled in lead. I said, “That’s all right. You can be the James Iha to my Billy Corgan.” It was cool to be talking to someone who could get the Pumpkins reference.

Josh said it would be a challenge to record the music and getting it sounding just right, but that he liked challenges. I said, “Oh well in that case you might want to actually help me record my concept album!” He said, “Why not?”

So let’s add it all up: a good friend…plays all sorts of instruments, especially ones that are hard to find…willing to follow my lead (as long as I do the same, which I will)…even started talking about getting a setlist together and playing shows…talked about setting up an open mic night OF HIS OWN…and is a damn good producer/recording engineer/whatever you want to call him? I think we have a winner here.

All in all, yesterday was a damn good day for art.

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

