Wing Chun Kung Fu: The Purpose of Each Form

Lately I have been thinking a lot about what each form in wing chun is all about. What purpose does each one serve? The great thing is, I could always ask Sifu Russ Cichon and get an answer. However, I like to try coming up with answers on my own (which I then bring to him in the end anyway!). From my current point of view, this is what I think of each form.

SIL LUM TAO
*Proper adduction in your horse stance
*Proper elbow energy

CHUM KIU
*Maintaining adduction when you pivot and step
*Using the hands in harmony

MOOK JONG
*Taking everything from Sil Lum Tao and Chum Kiu and perfecting the timing on something that takes up physical space

BIU JEE
*Use of power, especially explosive power

POLE
*More elbow power
*Deep stances

BUTTERFLY SWORDS
*Using weapons as extensions of the hansd

These are the forms as I see them. I’m not saying that this is the only way to interpret them. Feel free to disagree. Over time I’m sure my view of them will change as my understanding of them deepens.

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

