A Song for William

Last night I wrote a song for my son William…finally. He is six years old. By contrast I had one written for my twins and my older son Aiden before they could even walk.

Why is that? Several reasons.

First, by the time he was born, I had given up on writing songs. I already had over 200 written that would never see the light of day because I could never get a band to stick. The kind of music I write is meant to be done by a whole band. Since I didn’t have one, and I already had quite a back catalog, I saw no point in writing more.

Second, I was at a point in my life where I was not “allowed” to spend too much time playing guitar. Your guess at how much time was “too much” is as good as mine. Sometimes I could be on it for a half hour; other days all I had to do was LOOK at it, and I’d get attacked. At any rate, I was never able to come up with anything good for him because I couldn’t jam long enough to stumble upon the right chords and feel.

Last night it took maybe 30-45 minutes to compose it, and the song wound up being less than four minutes long. The length of the creation time was disconcerting to me, but then I had to realize: I have been out of practice for so long that it’s a GIVEN the songs won’t spill out of me like they did when I started writing tunes in 1998.

At any rate, I finished the song. It needs some lyrical tweaking (for some lines there were too many words to fit the rhythm of the tune), but otherwise it is a fitting ode to my little guy, and it accurately represents who he is and how he makes me feel.

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Song for William

Leave a Reply

