Happy Thanksgiving + a Sad Revelation

First of all, happy Thanksgiving to everyone.

Second: well, I hate to bless this day with the publication of one bummer of a post, but I write what I am feeling and thinking. I “keep it real,” to a fault. Lennon said being honest won’t get you many friends, but it will get you the right ones. So those of you who are “right” for me will hang in there. Those who aren’t…well, good luck.

This morning I was looking back at a handful of songs I wrote over the last few months when I was reminded why any musician should avoid writing songs for partners: I wrote a really great tune a few weeks ago called “Reflections of You” that I now have to scrap…because that person is already out of my life, 110%.

Some people might be inclined to say to me, “Why not keep the music and write new words?” No go. The damage is done. I will always be reminded the music was written for someone who turned out to be a deceitful liar.

Here’s a tip, dear: don’t think you are clever because you cheated on me when you lived two hours north of me. It’s kind of hard to keep tabs on someone with that much distance between them and myself. And not for nothing, but I shouldn’t have to keep tabs on anyone anyway!

I’d have to say the saddest thing about this development is that it made me realize people are often proud of things they should be ASHAMED of. Take my situation for example: she is proud of the fact that she deceived me. “Haha, I was banging a different guy just about every day while this sucker thought I was falling in love with him!” Sweetheart, instead of being proud of being “Smarter” than me, maybe you should be ASHAMED of the fact that it means you’re a lying slut.

On another note, this behavior is awfully funny coming from someone who used to cry on my shoulder because she was so upset that she couldn’t be the kind of mom to her kids that she wanted to be. You’re worried about being a good mom, yet this is the example you set for them? Cheat on a guy who lives two hours south of you because he has no way of knowing any better? Lie to him and say you’re falling for him when you’re telling other people that you’re just “doing” him? All I can say is…those poor kids.

Last but not least, she has been telling other people that SHE is the one who dumped me and not vice versa. Well if that’s the case, why are you running rampant among people I know on Facebook, telling them things with the intention of making waves for me? If you are the one who broke it off, why are you acting like the scorned woman?

In short, THANK YOU for dumping me. I can’t imagine what hell my life would have been if we HAD lived together. You helped me dodge a bullet there. Well, more like a grenade.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

