12-19-2014 BRUTAL…Audition?

Well, I was supposed to meet with another actress for BRUTAL at Panera Bread on Wolf Road. She had rescheduled with me twice before that. Our meeting was set for 4:00PM.

Then I get a text at 1:45PM: “Steve, I am so sorry but the universe is telling me I’m not meant to pursue this role. Good luck with your movie.”

Needless to say, I was pissed. Only two hours to go??? Are you kidding me? I arranged the rest of my night around meeting her. There were several other things I could have done that I blew off and/or postponed in order to meet her, and now THIS? I could not let this go unchallenged.

So I said, “Geez could you tell the universe to be a little more CONSIDERATE next time? You are cancelling with barely two hours to go. I rearranged everything else I had to do around this audition. There were even some things I blew off for you, and it is WAY too late in the day to pencil them back in!”

She wrote me back, but I was too annoyed to read it. Needless to say, I will NEVER ask her to audition for any projects in the future…and if she reaches out to me, I will simply say, “Sorry but the universe says you can’t audition.”

Now for those of you who get all butt hurt over issues like this, please understand I am NOT making fun of her if she truly is into all that “universe spoke to me” stuff. That is not what gets under my skin. The focal point of my annoyance here is the lack of consideration….the cancelling when there were only two hours to go.

But you know, THIS is what I get for being flexible on when and where auditions would be held. You would think that most actors, who are used to auditions being at a SET TIME AND PLACE, would appreciate the fact that I was willing to work around their schedules…but instead, they take advantage. Well, I learned my lesson: going forward, either you make the auditions when and where I say, or you just don’t get a chance at a part. Simple as that.

Oh well. I got five more people to audition from the first round of the casting call. Hopefully I will get them all done just before New Year’s.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

