All Sound Is Music

I really hate living in this email/text-heavy era. I miss the days of hearing another person’s voice over the phone, not only because I could get an immediate reply to what I was saying but because I could hear the person’s tone of voice. This would help me know what they meant, if they were really angry or just being sarcastic, etc. It seems to me that people got less butt-hurt by misunderstandings back then. But most of all, I miss it because, to my ears, ALL sound is music.

Every sound you hear is in a certain “key.” I remember one time I was recording a song in the key of A. There was a police siren in the background. When I played the song back, I realized the siren was in the same key as my song…so I left it in.

In the 1990’s, you could definitely hear the influence of things like jet engines on guitar sounds. (To be honest, this observation comes from Lee Ranaldo from Sonic Youth.) I am personally influenced a lot by sounds in nature. Usually these are droning sounds like the buzz of bees or drizzle of rain, but it’s not limited to that.

I can hear the potential for music in anything, even sounds that most people would think of as ANTI-music like a baby crying. However, you could easily convert that into an abrasive noise rock song! Then there are more soothing sounds like leaves on a tree rubbing together or the wind blowing. Aside from natural sounds, there are also man-made ones like the roar of a train.

People’s voices also sound like music to me. They use different words, stress different syllables. have different accents, pause at different times, and have a different rhythm. Each person’s voice is like a song: some are loud and abrasive (like Velvet Underground), some are quiet and soothing (like Iron and Wine).

Unfortunately, too many people prefer typing on their keyboard or their phones instead of open their mouths. I wish more people would bring the music of their voices back.

Life is a song, people.

SING IT!!!

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

