The Future of THE REDEMPTION PROJECT

For those of you who may be wondering: YES, I do still plan on getting my mammoth zombie-apocalypse-meets-Dungeons-and-Dragons epic comic out there. In fact, issue #1 was already released with artwork by Chuck Bowman, colors by Monte Thompson, and letters by John “Chilli” Palmer IV.

photo (1)

My friend Clarence is now also my roommate. Therefore it puts me in a much better position to say to him, “Hey…so, REDEMPTION PROJECT…how’s that going?” I would never do it to a nagging level, but I can definitely give him a nudge every now and then.

As for where to publish it, we are a bit torn. There are multiple avenues to go.

(1) We could buy a website and post it one page at a time, three days per week like the awesome online comic THE ZOMBIE HUNTERS. See here:

http://www.thezombiehunters.com

(2) Stick with that website idea but publish one full issue per month. By “full issue,” I mean somewhere within the vicinity of 20 pages at a time. The length would really depend on what part of the story made the most sense in terms of a dramatic cut-off point.

(3) Seek out a comic book publisher so THEY can handle producing each issue, promoting it, and of course PAYING US!!!

As far as promotion/marketing goes (and, to be honest, payment as well!), I wouldn’t mind going with option #3. My only concern with that route would be how much creative control we’d have over the story. I’ve already written the entire thing, but I can imagine a company saying, “We don’t like this and that so, if you want to keep getting published AND PAID, you’ll change it.” No thank you! I want to maintain artistic integrity, so going to a publisher might not be the best choice for that.

As the story moves forward, I want to open the universe up to other creative teams. What do I mean by that? Well, for example there is a computer genius introduced in part 2 named Ted. When we meet him, he is already a member of a survival group led by a woman named Molly Burroughs. (And yes, Molly’s last name comes from Beat Generation author William S. Burroughs.) Let’s say a comic book writer and/or artist stumble across THE REDEMPTION PROJECT. They really have an affinity for Ted, and they would like to know more about him. They can reach out to Clarence and I with an idea for expanding Ted’s story line. (Where does he come from? How did he survive the apocalypse? When did he join Molly’s team?) As long as what they come up with doesn’t violate anything in the MAIN story, they can go ahead and create that spin-off. This way the REDEMPTION PROJECT universe would be opened up by different people who might have different ways of approaching the material. To be honest, I may be more excited about that than getting MY story out there. I’m intrigued to see what they would do with it.

Exciting times lie ahead, ladies and gentlemen!

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

