My Future Regarding Fitness, Beachbody and So On

It’s been a little over six months since I quit being a Beachbody coach. For a while I still did the workouts, although eventually I stopped doing that too. It started to feel like a chore, and I have no idea why because I LOVED them. The decision to finally cut ties with my marriage threw me for more of a loop than I thought it would. Some people say to me, “Well, why would that shock you? After all, you were putting the end to a six year marriage.” In theory, yes…but the reality is I think the love died out years before that. I figured I’d be okay once I was honest with myself about that.

However, discussing that is NOT the purpose of this article. Today I am here to say it’s time to get back into the fitness game. Unfortunately, due to the way the rest of my life is currently arranged, I cannot do my home workouts anymore.

Here’s the situation: I get out of work at 3:30PM, and my job is a twenty minute drive from my house. I have been going back to wing chun. Class starts at 6:15PM, and the school is only a FIVE minute drive from my job, so it’s a bit wasteful to drive ALL the way home to Troy…then ALL the way back to Albany for class. Not heading home means I won’t be able to do my HOME-based workouts, so what can I do? How am I finally going to ditch this flab?

First I thought of changing my work schedule so I got out at 5:00PM. That way there would be only a little over an hour until class. Also, since I would be going in to work later, that would mean I could stay awake later and do my workout after wing chun. However, there is one flaw in this plan: that means I wouldn’t be getting out until 5:00PM on Friday when I get my kids. My daughters live south of me, Aiden lives north, and William lives west. By the time I got home, they would have to eat dinner right away and then go to bed. So ixsnay on the changing schedule-bay.

Second option was to NOT change my schedule but do the workouts when I got home anyway. While I may have the energy for it, this is also not feasible because in order to get results from your exercises, your body needs enough rest. It would be counterproductive to do the workouts so late.

Third option was to just suck it up and go home between work and class. Financially speaking, this is not realistic. Gas is still almost $3 a gallon. Shelling out that much more money is a VERY bad idea.

All these options, and none worked.

Then my friend Rob came to the rescue.

He is a certified personal trainer. It turns out he trains a client at a Planet Fitness not far from my job every day from 4:00-6:00PM. I could go there after work, exercise, then go to wing chun. Not only is it closer than going home, but the monthly cost of Planet Fitness is WAY LESS than the extra gas I’d be putting in my car if I went home between work and class. This solution took care of all my concerns in one fell swoop!

(SIDE NOTE ABOUT THE MEETING WITH ROB: Due to holidays and other personal issues that kept coming up, I have been unable to actually go to the gym when Robert trained his client. However, we set aside time on January 3 to meet at the gym so he could run me through the strength, cardio, ab, and stretching routines that his program consist of. I have a ton of upcoming appointments this week, right after work, so I will have to choose between the gym or wing chun…and wing chun wins out LOL. However, I will soon be putting this program to use.)

Granted, there is one thing about this setup that still upsets me: since I won’t be using all the workout DVD’s that I bought, it’s kind of like I wasted my money on all of them. Unfortunately, that is something that can’t be helped at this time. Schedule-wise and money-wise, going to the gym makes more sense. However, I do still believe in Beachbody products; by that I mean both the workouts AND the nutrition supplements. I still plan on signing back up as a Beachbody coach because even if I’m not doing the workouts, I will still use and promote the supplements like the meal replacement drink Shakeology or the post-workout drink Results and Recovery Formula.

I weigh around 200 pounds now; I should be between 160 and 170, or 175 at best. Watch for a more fit Steve coming to a blog near you…hopefully by summer!

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Future Regarding Fitness, Beachbody and So On

  1. If there is a will there is a way. Thank you for sharing your message.

Leave a Reply

