I Hate to Say It, But Facebook IS Like Real Life

Every now and then I will meet someone new and, in order to keep in touch, I will ask if they are on Facebook. Sometimes I get the high and mighty “I’m too cool for social media” answer. On occasion they will go on to explain WHY they hate it. Usually their disdain stems from the fact that so many people post “petty” things.

FACEBOOK HATER #1: I mean, really…do you need to make a post every time you cook dinner or take a dump?

FACEBOOK HATER #2: I just posted a deep, meaningful, well-thought out post, and it was followed by someone else who talked about how they just picked an abnormally large booger out of their nose.

Call me crazy but, in my opinion, that sounds pretty much like real life. Let me give you an example: I was at my desk at work, talking with someone about politics. Two desks down, two of my female coworkers were talking about which actor is hotter: Chris Hemsworth or Chris Evans. (For the record, I’d go with Evans.)

If you ask me, people are no less petty on Facebook than they are in real life. The difference? On Facebook, you are exposed to the pettiness of people from around the world instead of just those in your immediate environment.

PS: Not for nothing, but Facebook and social media are here to stay, so you might as well get off your high horses and stop mocking those who use it. You can’t judge someone as a mindless sheep blindly following the herd simply because they have an account on Facebook or Twitter.

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

