First Time Working Out in Ages

Last night I finally made it back to the gym. I wasn’t able to get there until a little after 5PM, which of course means it was packed. I did chest and back exercises. This is how the routine was SUPPOSED to break down.

CHEST: Machine Press, 2 sets, 12-15 reps
BACK: Seated Row, 2 sets, 12-15 reps

Then repeat the above until I had done 4 sets of both exercises.

CHEST: Standard Bench Press, 2 sets, 12-15 reps
BACK: Fixed Pull-down, 2 sets, 12-15 reps

And again, repeat until I had 4 sets.

The only thing is, it was high traffic time for the place. Therefore, all the standard bench presses were in constant use. One of the most important things to do when you work out is KEEP working out, so I had to improvise: instead of bench presses, I did push-ups, 15 reps for each set.

Surprisingly, despite all the people there and the amount of exercises I had to do, I was out of there in about 35-40 minutes. Oddly enough, I don’t feel as sore as I did the day when Robert and I went to the gym so he could show me this routine. However, I did feel the pain DURING the exercises, so I am confident that I pushed myself hard enough.

This is the first step on my way to being fit again. Aside from being healthier, this may be the answer to one of the bigger problems I have: finding romance, which is pretty sad to say, but it is unfortunately the way of the world.

When I get ripped, I will still have the same face, the same sense of humor, the same level of intelligence, the same creative talent. The ONLY thing that will be different is my body. And yet I bet loads of attention will come my way.

To prevent you from thinking I am arrogant or delusional, I will share a quote from my roommate, who was listening to my romantic woes.

“You’re not a bad-looking guy, dude. You’re creative, you’re smart, you’re funny, you’re caring…the only thing I think you have to change is to lose some weight.”

I knew he was right, but at the same time…it also angered me. If I AM smart, funny, creative, and caring, then why isn’t that enough? That is what every woman claims to want. What they never MENTION is that they want smart/funny/creative/caring wrapped up in a package that looks like Brad Pitt or George Clooney.

The superficiality of it all makes me resentful. Even if I DO get attention when I’m fit, I probably won’t be receptive to it. I can imagine it now: a woman who has ignored me when I was fat for years suddenly starts talking to me when I’m thin. My response?

“You know, I am the same guy that you used to ignore. Now you’re all about talking to me because you think I’m hot? Just move on, bitch.”

You know what though? I can’t say how I will react until I’m there, although I CAN daydream about it…which is the subject of an upcoming blog. For now, let me just say I am happy to be working out again.

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

