The Wing Chun Swing

WARNING: The majority of today’s blog will mean NOTHING to those who haven’t studied wing chun kung fu. Sorry about that, but this is the subject to which my muse guided me this morning.

Last night in class, Sifu focused on the first 2-3 sections of wing chun’s second form, Chum Kiu. More specifically, he focused on the parts where we pivot forward and do a bong sau, then pivot to the side with a lan sao.

While it would be a little pointless to describe what he taught us here (after all wing chun has to be FELT, not seen or read about), there was something significant that happened after class.

It was an hour or so later when I saw Sifu post on Facebook about how good class was. He said he had several “Chum Kiu-level” students at class. He also mentioned about how sometimes you will have a student for 15-20 years who has spotty attendance (my words there, not his), who may have trained most of the system but has never put in the class time so the Sifu could make sure they were doing things properly.

Here is a direct quote from him: “It feels good when they actually and truly achieve a solid foundation in Chum Kiu.”

Now I am not arrogant enough to assume he meant me when he talked about having a long-term student (although as of this month, I DID start attending there 20 years ago). I definitely don’t assume he means *I* was the one achieving a solid foundation in Chum Kiu. However, I do know I was at least PARTIALLY being referenced in this post.

The one tip-off for me is when he mentions students who have trained most of the system but haven’t been in class. You see, out of the six forms, I know four in their entirety (Sil Lum Tao, Chum Kiu, Biu Jee, and the dummy) and one partially (six and a half pole). Also, my attendance over the years has been…spotty. Yes, I believe that is the KINDEST way I can put it.

However, I am back in it for the long haul.

It does feel good to be included in that sentiment. I don’t like chasing down compliments, so I’m not going to nag him with, “Am I doing good now, Sifu? How about now?” Personally I think when you ask for a compliment, people feel some kind of social obligation to give you one even if you don’t deserve it. It is SO much better to have it come about organically like the above scenario.

It feels good to be back in the wing chun swing of things.

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

