Planet Fitness SUCKS

As always, this is from my experience.

A couple weeks ago I joined the Planet Fitness in Clifton Park. Some people wonder why I joined the one up there because I live in Troy. Well, it was because I happened to be in the area that night and did not realize until I got there that each Planet Fitness is its own entity. However, I signed up there anyway because the employee told me I could initiate a transfer to the Crossgates Commons Planet Fitness as my “home gym” within 24 hours.

I signed up on a Monday, so I initiated the home gym change on Tuesday night. The website told me it should take 1-3 business days. A staff member had told me that you could change your membership from “basic” to “black card” (this would allow me to go to ANY Planet Fitness without having to pay the $5 facility fee) on the site, but I saw no way to do this. Out of curiosity I called the Crossgates Commons gym and asked where I would go online to change my membership.

This employee told me, “Oh, there’s no way to do that online. You have to do that in person.”

I called the Crossgates Commons gym on Friday. The change had not occurred. It turned out this was okay since I had a meeting with someone in Saratoga Springs. On my way south, I stopped at the Clifton Park gym and asked if they could change me to the “black card” membership.

The guy told me, “No, I can’t do it because you initiated a home gym change. Crossgates Commons can upgrade you to black card when you get down there.”

“Well how long should that take?” I asked. “Your website said 1-3 days, and I’m STILL not transferred.”

He said, “Seven days.”

Okay, so fast forward to today. Seven days since I initiated the home gym change. My name is STILL NOT IN THE CROSSGATES COMMONS GYM. They weren’t really willing to do anything. I called the Clifton Park gym. I was told that I had to wait until the next day when their manager came in.

So for tonight, I said “screw it” and came home to work out. I did INSANITY: PURE CARDIO and CARDIO ABS. I was amazed at how out of shape I am, compared to when I first did Beachbody workouts. In a couple months I will find out if I get the state job, which starts at 9AM. If I get it then I will forget the gym entirely and go back to the home videos. However, I can’t kid myself: I CANNOT start with P90X or Insanity. In order to do this, I have to go back to the beginning to the program that started it all: Tony Horton’s 10 Minute Trainer. Of course, I think I’m in decent enough shape where I could 20 minutes per day instead of 10.

If their manager won’t put a rush on this or fix it, then I’m cancelling my membership and going to Best Fitness.

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

