The Future of My Music

NOTE: As always, the blog is not a direct transcription of the video.

I’m resigned to never playing with a band again. That is how I feel at this point in time. First of all, I don’t have the time. Second, I don’t have the patience to deal with the egos, picky attitudes, and generic bullshit that comes with dealing with others. For examples of that, watch the video.

My goal is to record my acoustic material while slowly but surely gathering the equipment needed to record full band songs. When it comes to the “band” material, I can sing, play lead/rhythm guitar, and play bass. The only other person I was going to need was a drummer, until I discover a drumming program called EZ Drummer.

I need a Digital Audio Workspace (DAW) and an interface, which will allow me to get the sound of the instruments on my computer. There is something I can buy called PreSonus, which is an interface that comes pre-packaged with the DAW called Studio One. So for the price of one thing, I get two items that I need. Maybe some of the pickier musicians out there reading this blog will say Studio One sucks and lacks a whole bunch of features, but you know what? It will serve its purpose for now. I can always upgrade later. Aside from the drumming program, DAW and interface, I will need (1) a bass, (2) a microphone, and (3) a good set of headphones. That last item there will help me with mixing the songs. As for mastering…I’m not sure if Studio One is capable of that. If not, then I will save up to send my music out somewhere to be mastered. (Albany Audio Associates might be a good bet. I trust the ear of its owner, John Chiara.)

As far as distribution goes, there are several methods: (1) creating a music page and sharing on Facebook/Twitter/etc., (2) uploading to CD Baby, (3) posting on Reverb Nation and Soundcloud, (4) put up live performances on YouTube (which as some of you know has finally begun), (5) upload to Amazon an iTunes, and of course (6) hit up open mic nights AND/OR schedule my own acoustic shows where I can bring along CD’s as merchandise…not to mention gather people’s emails so I can send them a link to buy music online if they prefer to get their music digitally. This approach will allow me to peddle the full band stuff while playing acoustic material.

In short, fuck bands. Aside from needing to get the equipment described above, I can do this all by myself.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

