QUESTION: How About Some Accountability? ANSWER: No Thanks…Had Some This Morning

NOTE: Watch the video for some fun examples of crappy accountability!

If you ask me (and few do), one of…if not THE…most annoying thing about the world today is the lack of accountability. It seems to get worse as time goes on. I have no idea why, nor do I have any idea how to fix it. So at this point I’m kind of struggling to give this blog a happy ending instead of letting it be just a mindless rant with no way out at the end. For now I’m just going to go with the flow and see where my writing takes me.

I’m reminded of a line John Witherspoon says in the movie FRIDAY: “You kids today are nothing but punks…sissified.” Now granted he’s referring to Ice Cube’s desire to pick up a gun instead of fight the neighborhood bully with fists, but the same can be said of people’s mentality as well. They are so weak in mind (AS WELL AS body) that they can’t admit when they’ve wrong someone else. God forbid they have to accept any blame, right?

And it isn’t even always the offending party that suffers from the lack of accountability. Sometimes they have a partner who picks up the slack for them. For an example of that, watch the video.

People will do anything they can to avoid being accountable. That is because if they admitted to what they had done, they’d feel guilty and therefore couldn’t sleep at night. Well, I’m sorry you tossed and turned for one night, but maybe…just MAYBE…if you faced that guilt, you’d think to yourself, “Wow, I really hurt that person. I better not do that again.” Then you could grow from it.

But no, that won’t happen. Too many people are pussies. Either that, or they have been instilled with the arrogant belief that they truly can do no wrong. So then what happens? Those of us who DO admit when we’re wrong wind up carrying the weight of the world. Whenever I’ve had to suck it up and say I made a mistake, you bet your ass I was NEVER allowed to forget it. These non-accountable people LOVE to rub it in your face when you screw up. Kick someone in the shin by accident today, and five weeks from now they’ll still be saying, “Remember when you hit me in the shin? Yeah, you fucked up BAD.”

But you know what? I can’t control how the world acts. I hold myself accountable…when I NEED to. If some asshole tries to pass blame on to me when it’s not my fault, I throw that weight right back at them. I mean, what else can you do?

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

