Pros and Cons of Being Underestimated

My whole life, people have viewed me as a pushover. For a long time this was an accurate description of me…at least when it came to verbal confrontations. If there had been any physical altercation, then my attacker would have been unpleasantly surprised to discover I had some self-defense ability. Of course, no one EVER took a swing because most bullies are all talk and no action, so they never got to see the side of me that could handle things. All they ever knew was the guy who didn’t retaliate, not even verbally.

The bullies from my days of being a push-over are long gone. Since 2010 I have found my backbone and learned to stand up for myself, but you wouldn’t know that from the NEW bullies I meet. To this day I still describe myself as a bully magnet. I just seem to attract them. Hell, I could be around someone who has never bullied anyone in their life but, when they are around me, they decide to give it a shot! Of course, they’re not too happy when they find out I’m not an easy win.

The point of this particular blog is not to figure out why I’m the magnet or how to change it. That can be addressed in a later blog because, to be honest, I’m still searching for the answer. Today I am merely concerned with the pros and cons of my situation.

PRO: I know I can handle myself, but the BULLIES don’t know it. Therefore I have the element of surprise on my side.

CON: While I know I can take care of business, I’d rather not deal with the aggravation in the first place. I don’t have the time for it, so it’s annoying that they won’t just leave me alone.

So how do I deal with this frustrating aspect of my life? The answer seems clear: even though I would prefer people don’t mess with me, I can take comfort in the fact that I can handle it.

That’s the plan for now anyway. In the meantime, the search continues for a way that I can project a vibe that says, “Don’t fuck with me AT ALL, you filthy SOB’s!!!”

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

