Done With the Daily Cubicle Drone Part 1

SUBTITLE: MINDLESS SHEEP ARE A MANAGER’S BEST FRIEND

This will be part 1 of a 3 part series where I rant against corporate America.

Recently I was complaining about the attendance policy at work to a fellow employee. (For the record, it has to be THE worst policy out of every job I have ever had.) I said, “What I hate the most is when the supervisors say there’s nothing they can do about it. That’s just laziness on their part. If they bumped the complaint up high enough, SOMETHING would get done.”

My peer’s response? “That rule is from up top. It’s not going to change.”

That has to be the lamest, most submissive, “I’ll bend over but all I ask is that you put it in slow” answer I have ever heard! It’s right up there with classics like, “Well, that rule has been in place a long time.” Or, “That’s the way it’s always been.” Or the REAL winner: “Well, management are the ones who came up with that rule. They must have known what they were doing.”

First of all, management does NOT always know what they’re doing. They are human too, and therefore subject to being just as clueless as the rest of us. In all fairness, I think that sometimes they might not be aware how certain rules make their employees unhappy, which leads me to the next point.

Second, how do you KNOW a rule will never change unless you bring it to their attention? This is where the laziness comes into play. I really don’t see what harm there would be in trying.

Third, the most infuriating of all these replies is the whole “that’s the way it’s always been” attitude. So…if there was a law passed 100 years ago saying rape was legal, then that would make it okay simply because “that’s the way it’s always been?” What happened to the days when people fought for what was right? In the 1960’s when Martin Luther King led the march on Washington, there were white people in the crowd. Yes, WHITE PEOPLE who liberties weren’t even affected by discrimination! My point is: people used to fight against unfair rules, even the ones that didn’t affect them. Where did that spirit go?

I don’t have an answer. All I know is without that massive support, you will never gain the critical mass needed to bring about change. Too many people have become complacent sheep. (This is why BRAVE NEW WORLD was a much more accurate prediction of the future than 1984.) People get so used to the ways things are that it’s frightening to think of anything changing, even if the change would be for the better…even if the change meant doing away with a rule that is grinding them into the dirt. And let’s not forget there is a selfish component to this too. The mindset is, “Hey, I got mine…screw everyone else!”

But what they don’t realize is…THEY could easily get screwed by the same rules they refuse to oppose.

Stay tuned for part 2.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

