Taming the Nutrition Beast

A couple weeks ago I finally got back into working out. However, this time I decided I wanted to do it right. Not only would I be working out, but I also wanted to eat right.

To do this, I decided to follow the nutrition guide that came with Insanity Max 30. This program simplified nutrition by using the same portion control containers that were introduced in 21 Day Fix. There are only two different eating plans you can follow: one for a person who weighs less than 150, and one for a person who weighs over 150. Since I weigh over it, that is the one I picked. This is what they recommend you eat on a daily basis:

4 servings of veggies
3 servings of fruit
4 servings of protein
3 servings of carbs
1 serving of healthy fat
1 serving of seeds and dressings
4 teaspoon servings of oils and nut butters

This was what I followed for the first week that I was doing the P90X 3/Insanity Max 30 hybrid. However, there is one thing about which I was unclear: was this plan meant for someone who wanted to lose weight, or were these nutritional needs meant to help someone who wants to MAINTAIN their weight? I started to suspect it was the latter…and believe me, I do NOT want to stay at my current weight!

So after a week of following the plan outlined above, I switched to the other one, which is for people UNDER 150 pounds. Now I eat as follows:

3 servings of veggies
2 servings of fruit
4 servings of protein
2 servings of carbs
1 serving of healthy fat
1 serving of seeds and dressings
4 teaspoon servings of oils and nut butters

As you can see, the only real change is that veggies, fruit and carbs are all reduced by one serving per day. I’m not entirely sure how long this might work for me, but I do know one thing: I AM managing to follow it. Despite what I thought, I do not find myself starving between meals. Last but not least, it has allowed me to create a grocery list that is healthy AND affordable. In fact, the only thing on my list that really costs a lot would be Shakeology.

Do any of you have any thoughts on eating healthy? What is your approach? I’d love to hear any alternate takes on this via the comment box below!

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in carbohydrates, diet, eating, food, health, Insanity Max 30, nutrition, observation, protein, shakeology, shaun t, team beachbody and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

