University Police Officer 1 and Wing Chun Training

A few weeks ago I was sent a letter from SUNY New Paltz that I was eligible to come to the campus and take an agility test for the position of University Police Officer 1. There were only three items on the test: push-ups, sit-ups and running a mile and a half.

The expectation was that candidates could do 24 push-ups without stopping and 35 sit-ups inside of a minute. Those were easy for me, given how I have been doing workouts like P90X and so on for several years now. However, the biggest challenge came in the form of the 1.5 mile run: they wanted us to do it in 12 minutes, 58 seconds.

I was not sure that I could. I mean, I knew my legs could handle it, but what about my lungs? The only way to pass it would be to train for it, doing strictly the items on the list, so that is what I set out to do.

With only a week left until the test, I realized I would not pass. Despite pushing as hard as I could, the best I could get was 1.1 miles in 12:58. Certainly this was better than I anticipated doing, but still not good enough. There was no way I could close that 0.4 miles gap by the date of the test, so I had to skip it.

However, the good news is that I AM eligible to take it again. Now that I know what I am up against, I can prepare for it better.

But here’s the thing: I have also recently relit my passion for wing chun (now that I have switched schools and am learning under a much more positive, enlightened Sifu). I asked my teacher for things I could do to train on my own (class is only once a week, and I can go only every TWO weeks). He gave me a laundry list of things I could do to train solo, not to mention gave me permission to teach people privately. I am grateful for his help.

However, one obstacle remained: how do I accommodate BOTH types of training when I have such limited time as it is?

Well, I was not about to let my jam-packed schedule keep me from my goals. I hammered away at it, and I think I have finally come up with a training schedule that allows me to do both.

I will be posting the actual schedule in another post, and then going over it.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in adversity, cardio, challenge, chum kiu, crunches, discipline, exercise, fatigue, fitness, health, insanity, inspiration, kung fu, martial arts, observation, push-ups, Sifu, train, training, university police officer, wing chun, workout and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to University Police Officer 1 and Wing Chun Training

  1. Robert Mitchell says:

    Congrats! Have you tried interval training? I’d start with 2:00 jogging and :20 sprinting for the 1.5 miles. Next time up it to :30 then :40 etc. When you get to 2:00/2:00 I bet you’ll be under 12:58 πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

