Monday Wing Chun Training

All right, folks. Yesterday I uploaded my ENTIRE weekly training schedule, with the promise that I would break it down and explain it further. So here we go. Are you ready?

Monday Wing Chun and UPO Training

Some of you who have read my blog in the past will recognize some terms here, but those of you who are new arrivals will be scratching your heads and asking things like, “What the hell is a Chum Kiu anyway?” That is why I am breaking things down today.

Let’s start from the top, shall we?

CHUM KIU: I practice a martial art called wing chun kung fu. Within that style there are 6 forms. Chum kiu is the second. (For those of you unfamiliar with martial arts, a “form” is a sequence of techniques that you run through. They are meant to train your structure and timing.) This is the form where we learn to pivot and use both of our hands at the same time, as well as learning how to kick, stepping footwork and developing the proper body mechanics that will give us the most power in our attacks.

This is the level I’m at in wing chun, which is why I do the form 8 times per day. I’m still trying to develop the body mechanics and properly rooting my stance so that when I punch, it is from the GROUND UP. The power of a wing chun punch comes from the ground, NOT just your arm muscles.

So I run through this form 4 times a day, going slowly so I can articulate and really feel everything. Then I go 4 times fast so I can work on the whipping power. At the end of each form, I do 100 punches (whereas normally you do only 3). In other words, by the time I am done with Chum Kiu, I have done 800 punches.

BIU JEE: This is the third form. There are those who call it the “desperation form” because it is full of techniques that are quite damaging. You use this stuff when your life is in danger. Also, this form consists of techniques that you use when you have lost control of your center line. (I will write more about this concept at a later date…or maybe I will create a “Glossary of Terms” page here on the site.) I go through this form once, with 100 punches at the end.

SIL LUM TAO: This is the FIRST form in wing chun. Why do I save it for last? Well, I don’t really. I don’t always follow this list in the same order you see in the image. Anyway, Sil Lum Tao is where you stand in your basic horse stance (“yee gee kim yueng ma”) and run through the most common techniques that appear in the style. Just like with Biu Jee, I do this once a day, ending with 100 punches. Between the 3 forms, I execute 1000 punches per day.

Now let’s move on to the two drills I do independent of forms.

2-HAND TECHNIQUES WITH PIVOTING, 100 TIMES: As I said above, Chum Kiu is about using the hands simultaneously. It is also where we learn to pivot. Therefore, why not take the form out of the equation and focus on those two things specifically? Also, just so you know, when I say “two hand techniques,” what I mean is one hand attacks while the other defends.

Why am I taking the time to do an extra 100 of these? Simple: pivoting and executing simultaneous hand motions is one of the things that needs my attention.

DOUBLE LAN SAO TURN, 100 TIMES: Most of you out there will not know what “lan sao” is. Worry not, because it is not important. What IS important is that you understand one of my weak areas in Chum Kiu is maintaining my balance when I pivot. Therefore, I am going to split out yet another part of the form that involves pivoting and work on that some more.

Well, that’s it for the summary of Monday. Stay tuned for Tuesday!

PS: I am thinking more and more about creating that “glossary” page for people. Not only will it include descriptions of the techniques, but it could also include pictures…or maybe even videos. What do you folks think?

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in biu jee, body mechanics, chum kiu, martial arts, pivot, punches, sil lum tao, wing chun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday Wing Chun Training

  1. Pingback: Wednesday Wing Chun Training Explained | The Writings and Ruminations of Steve Grogan

  2. rocfu27 says:

    Quick question; is that thousand punches a set of 100 chain punches at the end of each form, or individual mindful strikes?
    Though some may see no difference, those who have used chain punches, and have also been hit by a boxer, will understand the meaning of my question.
    Just wondering.

    • wcman1976 says:

      Sorry it took me so long to reply to this. I haven’t been feeling quite myself for a while…just needed to step away and regroup.

      To answer your question, I will vary up the way I do the punches. I might do a handful of mindful strikes, as you call it. Then I might do more of a “one-two” motion. Last but not least, there is our misunderstood, over-relied-upon friend the straight blast. However, I do that last one very rarely. Even when I do, I will execute no more than 5 chain punches.

Leave a Reply

