Tuesday University Police Officer Training

Although I will still train wing chun on Tuesday, I consider this more of a University Police Officer training day. You shall see why when I explain it all.

Tuesday Wing Chun and UPO Training

The top portion was covered in yesterday’s post. Now on to the rest.

For the University Police Officer agility test, there are three goals you have to meet. These involve doing a certain number of sit-ups and push-ups, as well as running 1.5 miles in a certain amount of time. The goals for each of these depend on your age; the numbers go down depending on what decade you are in (20-29, 30-39, etc.).

I was in the 30-39 age range, so my goals were:

*24 push-ups with no break
*35 sit-ups in a minute
*Run 1.5 miles in 12 minutes 58 seconds

I could do the sit-ups and push-ups with no problem. Running, on the other hand, was my downfall. The closest I could get was 1.1 miles by that 12:58 mark. That wasn’t as bad as I thought I would do, but still not good enough for the test. Rather than go all the way to New Paltz and fail (and thus waste one of my two chances to pass), I decided to skip it.

This allowed me the chance to research and develop a training plan, which I now have. It is a 90-day routine that will hopefully get me to where I need to be. This is how it works.

MONTH 1: I will run 3 times per week. The goal will be to pick a running speed that is comfortable for me, and it has to be a pace that I can keep for the entire mile and a half without slowing down to a walk. As you can imagine, this will be trial and error at first.

MONTH 2: I will still be doing 3 days per week. The difference here is that I will be jogging at the previous pace for 2 minutes, but then bump it up to a FASTER pace for 1 minute. Again, the goal is to pick a pace that I can maintain. NEVER DROP DOWN TO WALKING SPEED!!!

MONTH 3: Yes, 3 days per week again. Now we flip the previous month’s equation. I go at that faster tempo for 2 minutes, then go at the original “comfortable” one for 1 minute.

Hopefully over the course of 90 days, this will get me where I need to go. Of course, there is one thing going in my favor: by the time they call me to take the agility test again, I will be 40 years old. What does that mean? They will expect fewer sit-ups and push-ups from me. Also, the time they will expect me to run goes up to 13:50. However, I still want to aim for 12:58 in case I have to take it before I hit my birthday.

The last item on the list is burpees (formerly known as squat thrusts) with a jump at the top. This was recommended to me by Sifu Larry London to help develop my leg strength for wing chun. I placed it after the run for an obvious reason: I wouldn’t want to tire my legs out BEFORE trying to run. At the moment I am going by a time limit. Originally I was going to try doing 25-50 repetitions, but I think doing the time limit is better because it will push me to do more. The harder I push myself, the more likely I will rise above my plateau and break through to the next level of fitness.

Last but not least, you may notice that I listed my push-up goal as 30 and my sit-up goal as 40. Why? Because I like to overachieve.

That’s all for today. See you for Wednesday’s training summary!

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in abs, agility test, arms, biu jee, cardio, chest, crunches, exercise, fitness, health, kung fu, Larry London, martial arts, motivation, punches, running, Sifu, sil lum tao, sit-ups, stretching, train, training, triceps, university police officer, wing chun, workout and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

