Wednesday Wing Chun Training

Okay, back to the grind! Ready to explore the Wednesday training schedule with me?

Wednesday Wing Chun and UPO Training

Okay, we have explored the top portion as far back as the post about Monday’s training schedule. For those of you who missed it:

https://wcman1976.wordpress.com/2016/06/09/monday-wing-chun-training-explained/

Now on to the other part of Wednesday’s training.

Front and side kicks are self-explanatory. Even if you aren’t a martial artist, you may not recognize a side kick by name, but you WOULD know it by appearance. However, wing chun kicks are not the high, flashy, acrobatic feats you see in the movies. For the record, here is the wing chun front kick:

wing chun front kick

You don’t want to kick much higher than the waist because then you run the risk of losing your balance.

And here is the wing chun side kick. The difference between front and side is that you turn yourself slightly so that your side is facing your opponent. By doing this, you can get your hip into the kick, which will make it more powerful.

wing chun side kick

That leaves the “bong and jut gerk” part to explain.

In wing chun, any technique done with the hands ends with “sao.” For example, there is a block called “pak sao,” which means “slapping hand.” There is another one called “bong sao,” which looks like this:

BongSao

Whenever you see a technique end in “gerk,” it means it is done with the legs instead. So just like there is a “bong sao” and a “jut sao,” we also have “bong gerk” and “jut gerk.” The following image illustrates these techniques nicely.

Look at the gentleman in the blue shirt on the left. When his leg is up, THAT is “bong gerk.” Notice how he is in touch with his partner’s leg. In the second frame, he executes a “jut gerk,” where he jerks his leg down, imagining he is driving his heel into the ground.

bong-jut-gerk

So when I practice the “bong-jut gerk” drill, I will lift one left into “bong gerk” and then jerk it down in a “jut gerk” motion 25 times for each leg. This drill will help with my stance, AKA my balance. It will also help with my structure and developing proper power.

On to tomorrow’s post!

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in biu jee, chum kiu, kicks, kung fu, martial arts, sil lum tao, wing chun and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

