Friday Wing Chun Training

Okay, folks, are we ready to get back to a day of strictly wing chun training? I knew you were!

Friday Wing Chun and UPO Training

I am really on the fence about how I am going to do the shadow boxing thing. Sifu London told me to imagine being attacked and how I would respond, executing the moves slowly at first and then repeating at full speed.

The thing is, I don’t know how long I can imagine people attacking me without getting repetitious. At first I thought, “Well, I try for three minutes…the length of a boxing round.” Then it dawned on me that I might not be able to imagine being attacked for that long for even ONE round, let alone two.

My decision for now is that I will try to imagine being attacked for at least one minute at a time, whether I am doing my techniques slow or fast. If I can pull it off, great. If not, then I will replace this activity with something else. (In fact, I already have an idea for that: once I get my wooden dummy with portable base made, I can do five 3-minute rounds on the dummy, hitting it as hard and fast as I can to get my heart pumping and achieve a mini-cardio workout.)

Then again, maybe I am being too hard on myself for thinking I won’t be able to imagine a wide variety of attacks. After all, there are two things at work here: (1) Not only are there a limited number of ways in which one human being can attack another, but (2) if you analyze enough fights, you will see that the majority of them start in a similar way. It’s not like I have to imagine being attacked by a Muay Thai fighter or a Tae Kwon Do practitioner. Just imagining good old fashioned down and dirty street tactics should suffice.

WHAT ARE YOUR THOUGHTS ON THIS PART OF MY TRAINING? PLEASE COMMENT BELOW AND SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS!!!

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in biu jee, chum kiu, exercise, fitness, kung fu, Larry London, martial arts, mook jong, punches, shadow boxing, Sifu, sil lum tao, train, training, wing chun, wooden dummy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday Wing Chun Training

  1. Mayer Green says:

    I let my mind go… retreat diagonally- with full gan-sau..cut across purposefully maintaining proper guard…executing whatever I feel like responding with to what made me retreat. I try to be mindful of 1) PUSHING the horse, staying low 2) moving fast on my feet 3) maintaining my hands 4) find objects or envision objects to my sides that i have to turn to and face, cover, or respond to… if you want cardio… go push the horse for intervals, with punch sets, fast, accurately, with good timing… it’ll f-ing skyrocket your pulse if you train it hard.

    • wcman1976 says:

      Interesting ideas, although I am working on trying to AVOID retreating. I want to focus on not only remaining rooted but also on getting them UP-rooted. Still, you have some good ideas.

Leave a Reply

