Searching for That Affordable Warrior Nutrition

Well, things were so crazy with all the other posts I had going on that I never got the chance to get around to this!

My girlfriend and I have been trying our best to buckle down on nutrition. It has always been my Achilles heel for many reasons. Not only was there a willpower problem (eating junk food that roommates bought), but there was also a money issue. Like so many others, I fell victim to the myth that eating healthy meant expensive ingredients.

Then we found a link to an article that proved this was no longer true. Granted, the example it gives is a VEGAN menu, but I have no objections to that. When it comes to eating healthy and losing the 30-40 pounds that I need to shed, my opinion is this: I WILL TRY ANYTHING.

Having said that, the article promotes a grocery list that will cost you only $50 for the ENTIRE WEEK. Naturally I have to take into account the fact that we are buying for two people, which means $100 per week, but we both work so that negates itself out in the end anyway.

So here is the grocery list for the week:

Refried Beans: $.75
Canned Black Beans: $.65
Canned Chickpeas (Garbanzos) (x2): $1.30
Canned Diced Tomatoes (x2): $1.10
Small Flour Tortillas: $1.69
Instant Brown Rice: $1.49
Oats: $2.39
Dried Lentils (16 oz): $1.54
Brown Rice Pasta: $2.89
Whole Grain Bread: $1.79
Mushroom Marinara Sauce: $.99
Italian Salad Dressing: $1.99
Creamy Peanut Butter: $1.49
Almond Milk: $2.29
Fresh Salsa: $2.99
Hummus: $1.99
Extra Firm Tofu: $2.50
Bell Peppers Tri-pack: $2.49
Bag of Onions: $1.69
Baby Spinach (5 oz): $2.49
Garlic 3-pack: $.99
Bananas: $.44
Frozen Berry Medley: $2.79
Cucumber: $.99
Organic Cherry Tomatoes: $1.99
Turmeric (1 oz): $1.56
Garam Masala Spice (1 oz): $1.99

What can you make with all these ingredients? Here is the weekly menu. It might seem like there are 21 different meals (3 meals per day times 7 days in a week), but in actuality there are only 10. Some of them are slight variations on the same thing. (After all, is there much difference between “oats with peanut butter” versus “OVERNIGHT oats with peanut butter?” Other than a 12 hour difference, of course.) At any rate, here they are:


Monday:
B: Green Smoothie & Toast
L: Hummus, Cucumber, & Tomato Sandwich and Banana
D: Tacos w/ Refried Beans, Veggies, Salsa

Tuesday:
B: Oats w/ Peanut Butter
L: Rice Bowl w/ Refried Beans, Veggies, Salsa
D: Lentil Mushroom Pasta

Wednesday:
B: Green Smoothie & Toast
L: Hummus, Cucumber, & Tomato Sandwich and Banana
D: Tostadas w/ Refried Beans, Veggies, Salsa

Thursday:
B: Overnight Oats w/ Peanut Butter
L: Lentil Mushroom Pasta
D: Curried Chickpeas w/ Brown Rice

Friday:
B: Green Smoothie & Toast
L: Hummus, Cucumber, & Tomato Sandwich and Banana
D: Spinach Salad w/ Lentils, Tomatoes, Cucumber, Italian Dressing

Saturday:
B: Tofu Scramble & Toast
L: Curried Chickpeas w/ Brown Rice
D: Tacos w/ Refried Beans, Veggies, Salsa

Sunday:
B: Tofu Scramble Breakfast Tacos
L: Lentil Mushroom Pasta
D: Curried Chickpeas w/ Brown Rice

If anyone is interested in the recipes for any of these, then let me know and I will post them next!

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in diet, food, health, nutrition and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Searching for That Affordable Warrior Nutrition

  1. Your post makes such a pertinent point. Staples are very affordable indeed.

Leave a Reply

