What My Wing Chun Training Looks Like As of June 27 2016

I have been good about doing my forms (Chum Kiu 8 times a day, Sil Lum Tao and Biu Jee once each) with 100 punches at the end, except for this past Saturday and Sunday.

On Saturday my girlfriend’s kids and mine were really in rare form, testing us by getting into one bicker fest after the next. It is rough, but we are determined to make it work. Why? Because while we both can take turns whining, in the end we ARE fighters. I wound up doing SLT and BJ once each, but I did CK only 4 times.

Sunday is supposed to be a rest day anyway. However, I still did SLT and BJ once each, plus CK 3 times, all with 100 punches at the end for a total of 500 punches. Not bad for a “rest” day.

I have not added in any of the extra solo training ideas that I had (50 kicks, 100 double lan sao turns, etc.) because honestly, I haven’t had the drive. I can admit when my inspiration falls off. There is nothing I can do except say, “Hell with it. I am going to START doing those other solo training activities.”

As for the University Police Officer training, I am on the fence about even doing it honestly. If you wonder why, then I will tell you: there are some canvas letters I receive that come with an extra letter that tells me I had to be no older than 35 or 36 by the time I took the written test.

I took it in 2013.

Therefore, I was too old.

The only thing that would shave a couple years off my age would be if I had military experience, which I do not. The really crappy thing about this rule is that it came into effect AFTER I had taken the exam. Now you would think in cases like this that I would either (1) have been grandfathered in, so that my age didn’t matter, or (2) they would have seen I was too old to take the test and then deny me.

But instead, they took my $35 and let me take a test for a job that I can never get. Well, all I can do is call or email Civil Service and ask them what’s going on with this.

On the other hand though, I am still thinking about training for the job anyway. I want to see the day come where I CAN accomplish all the physical feats on that agility test. Even if I never can take it, so what? It would be worth it just to say I did it, and then get in better shape in the process!

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in biu jee, chum kiu, exercise, fitness, health, kung fu, martial arts, push-ups, sil lum tao, sit-ups, train, training, university police officer, wing chun and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

